Daily Archives: July 28, 2009

Ten Things Tuesday

A little bit of this, and a little bit of that…

1.  This is a random TTT primarily because I wanted a forum to showcase this for RedRoach and, really, the only way to talk about this stuff is in a randomness post…

photo

We went to our local kitchen goods store this weekend after the Harry Potter outing.  It seems that Mr. Chili broke his favorite wooden spatula beating the children scraping fridge-cold chocolate chip cookie dough out of a bowl, and he wanted a new one.  We didn’t find one that met his requirements, but this display caught my eye, so I grabbed a picture.  Thomas, my first thoughts went straight to you.  Let me know if you want some of this (‘because everything should taste like bacon!’) and I’ll hook you up.

2.  We leave for the lake in four days.  I can’t believe it.  Today is going to be spent catching up on laundry and doing some preliminary packing (or, at the very least, compiling lists).  Since I’ve got a lot of other stuff going on in my life right now (Gee, Chili; really?!  We hadn’t noticed!), I figure it’s better to do the big job of packing for a week in little, manageable bits over several days.

3.  I had a very interesting conversation with Bill last night.  I think he might be a little bit manic (or perhaps more than a little bit).  I chose to not bring up my continued ferocity about his deciding to alter Mom’s medications and instead let him to most of the talking.  What he told me is that he senses that she’s very close to passing (Gee, Bill; ya think?!) and he wonders if she’ll even live long enough to go to respite care.  He said he talked to Ellie about what to do if she stops breathing (DO NOT DO CPR!) and told me that he understands what’s going on.  I think that he gets it intellectually.  Emotionally and spiritually, though?  Not so much.

I kind of feel bad for the guy.  He really struggles – a lot - with some pretty basic concepts, and the result is that he expends an enormous amount of energy without actually accomplishing much.   I wish there were something I could say or do that would help him get a better handle on all of this, but I recognize that he’s got to find his own way, just like everybody else.

4.  Falcon is working quite literally in my neighborhood this morning.  My plan is to sneak over to where he’ll be and steal him away for lunch with Mr. Chili and the girls this afternoon.  For all that it astounds some of you that this man and I can be friends (Hi, Kizz!  Hi, Gerry!), I really do like him an awful lot.  Do I agree with him all the time (hell, do I agree with him often)?  No, but we disagree in a way that is very agreeable to both of us.  We don’t have to understand it, we just have to accept it.

5.  I’m starting to think about teaching again, and fell asleep last night compiling potential topics for persuasive essays in my head.  I’m sick, nearly unto death, of the well-worn topics (abortion, the death penalty, legalizing marijuana, lowering the drinking age, blah, blah, blah) so I was trying to come up with more interesting, less traveled avenues.  Of course, I didn’t write any of them down, so I can’t recall much this morning.  Sigh.  Feel free to try to refresh my memory.

*Edited to include; OH!  I remember one!  Parents should/should not have influence over the curriculum in their children’s classroom.  Coincidentally, Tense just wrote a piece about this very topic; go on over and have a look*

6.  BlogHer ’10 is in New York City next year.  I’ve already claimed my spot on Kizz’s couch, and I’m hoping to gather up a posse of women (Auntie, O’Mama, and Snob, I’m looking specifically at YOU!) to join me there.  I’m also thinking about how I can spin the conference to count toward professional development hours for my next teaching license certification cycle…

7.  Someone I care for dearly is completely melting down – in a spectacular and ugly way that is entirely of their* own making – and I’m still trying to sort out how I feel about it.  I’m infuriated at this person for doing what s/he did in order to precipitate this crisis – s/he should have fucking known better, as they’ve been down this road before – but I recognize that, this time, at least, it has nothing whatsoever to do with me.  That doesn’t keep me from recalling all kinds of emotions, though, or from wanting to deliver a swift and stinging combination of dope-slap and ass-kicking.  For all that, I’m keeping a respectful distance from ground zero, and only offering up my help and/or opinions when they are specifically requested (and, thus far, the person doing the melting has not asked, though others have).  It is astounding the mess that some people will willingly create for themselves, all the while lamenting that it “just happened” to them.

*As a rule, I dislike the use of “they” as a singular pronoun; however, given that I don’t want to divulge too much here, I’m trying to keep the person in question gender-neutral.  I find that “they,” even when used incorrectly as a singuar, is far less cumbersome than “he/she.”  I’m just sayin’…

8.  Once-a-week yoga is entirely insufficient.  I’m actually a little sore after teaching Sunday’s class, and that’s all kinds of wrong.  I have grand plans for my vacation week; I’m going to bring my earphones and my sneakers and walk before everyone wakes up (I’m the earliest riser of the Chili clan, so no one will miss me), and I’m bringing at least two yoga mats; Bruder is joining us for the week (he arrives here Friday night) and he does yoga – or, at least, he used to.  Regardless, I’ll be practicing every morning on the dock  – or, at least, that’s my plan; anyone who wants to join me is welcomed to pull up a mat.

9.  Switching over to the unlimited text plan on my phone was a very, very good idea.  In addition to allowing me to offer moral support to someone in crisis whenever it becomes necessary, I’m also able to send and receive love from various sources whenever and as often as I want without worrying about whether my next phone bill will give me seizures.

10.  A girlfriend of mine is going to take the girls to see G-Force tomorrow.

gforce_3

image credit

My friend actually wants to see the movie, and it will serve as a much-needed two-hour distraction from some pretty serious shit she’s grappling with in her life at the moment.  I just texted her to say that, additionally, she will enjoy a LONG stretch of gratutide from Mr. Chili and me for saving us from having to bring the girls to this film; they both want badly to see it, and we both want badly to not.  That my friend is willingly volunteering to take my kids is a little piece of Universal Synchronicity.  See?  It really does all work out in the end.

21 Comments

Filed under celebration, compassion and connection, concerns, family matters, Friends, fun, funniness, general kid stuff, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, love notes, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, on death and dying, Parenting, randomness, strange but true, ten things Tuesday, the jobs, vacation, weirdness