Daily Archives: September 26, 2009

A-MAZE-ING

The Chili family decided that this morning would be spent doing autumn in New England-y things.

We started out apple picking at our favorite orchard. We’ve been picking apples here since before the girls were born, and we’ve developed a bit of a tradition that involves apple cider donuts, fudge, and chocolate-dipped, coconut covered marshmallows.

Oh, and apples.  Of course, there are apples, too…

When we were done with the apples – having eaten only slightly fewer than we put in the bags – we decided that this year we would add to the experience by heading to a corn maze.

2009-SKUNK-FOR-WEBSITE

image credit

Until this afternoon, I was a corn maze virgin.  Sure, I’d heard of the things, and I’d been through the hedge maze in Colonial Williamsburg, but I’ve never been to one of the locally famous mazes that gets drawn every year around this time.

To be honest, I was a little skeptical.  I mean, really?  Walking around in a corn field?  Trying not to get lost and frustrated?  Mr. Chili assured me it was fun, though, so I grudgingly went along for the experience.

photo

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed myself.  This maze is the one from the picture, cut in the shape of a skunk sniffing a flower, and at various points along the path there were mailboxes with facts about skunks.  The idea for these was to choose an answer and head in the indicated direction.  By the time we got to the last mailbox (which contained all the right answers – we got two out of ten wrong), we were grinning, tired, and hungry.  A quick run through the barn to snoozle some friendly horse faces (I can see why so many people fall so deeply in love with the creatures) and we were headed off to lunch.

To top off my day, I’m going to see a concert with Auntie this evening.  I’ve gotten next to nothing done chore-wise today, but I’m willing to forego a little productivity for the sake of enjoying my family.  I hope your day was as lovely as mine!

10 Comments

Filed under backyard wildlife, family matters, fun, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, road trip!