Daily Archives: December 28, 2009

Monday Meme

The New Year’s Edition boosted, with love, from Chatty.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

I taught HIGH SCHOOL!  That’s quite an accomplishment, if I do say so myself!

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I really don’t make new years’ resolutions; I try to be mindful of opportunities for growth and change all year.

3. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?

We’ll be heading to Bowyer and Tonks’ place for food and friendship.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My mother passed in the first hour of August 20th.  My Small One passed around 3 a.m. on October 28th.

5. What countries did you visit?

I never left the U.S.; I usually don’t.  We did, however, attend the inauguration ceremonies in DC in January with about 2 million of our fellow countrymen.  Even though we were still in our own borders, it was an experience unlike any we’re ever to have again.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

A back porch, an upstairs bathroom, and a full time gig at CHS.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

August 20th, 2009.  See question 4…

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Huh.  That’s a hard one.  I think that the culmination of little achievements counts, don’t you?  I kept promises, I loved well, I learned and grew.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I’ve still not fully learned how to stand up for myself.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Not to speak of, no.  I had a mild shingles outbreak in the summer (Gee, Chili; we wonder why…?) and had my bout with what my coworkers lovingly call “hamthrax” over Thanksgiving break, but beyond that, I was strong and healthy.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

We’ve not actually bought it yet, but I’m betting the big screen is going to be a favorite purchase of 2009 (that is, if I can convince Mr. Chili to buy it in 2009.  Don’t hold your breath…).

12. Where did most of your money go?

Groceries and restaurants.

13. What song will always remind you of 2009?

The entire Burning the Days album by Vertical Horizon.  LOVE.  THAT.  DISC.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Read.

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Cried.

16. What was your favourite TV program?

Oh, THIS is an easy answer – I absolutely fell in love with Sons of Anarchy.  It’s going to be a long wait for the next season to start!

17. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I try very hard not to hate; I find that the people I would aim that kind of energy at really aren’t worth it.  Are there people I avoid with vigor now that I didn’t a year ago?  Oh, Goddess, yes, but they aren’t worth the effort it would take to hate them.

18. What was the best book you read?

I didn’t get to do much reading this past year, so nothing comes to mind.  I did enjoy re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird, The Book Thief, and A Christmas Carol with my students, though, and I think that counts.  The Book Thief may well be one of my top-10 books of all time.

19. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I didn’t discover Vertical Horizon this year – I’ve been loving them for a goodly number of years by now – but I absolutely absorbed Burning the Days.  No, really; if you’ve not gotten this CD yet, please do.

20. What was your favorite film of this year?

I liked several films this year, in fact; Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was a lot of fun, I enjoyed Star Trek FAR more than I expected to, and Avatar was a film that I enjoyed enough in the theatres that I’m going to buy it when it comes out on DVD.

21. What did you do on your birthday?

I turned 40 this year, and spent the day having lunch with O’Mama and being with my family in the evening.

22. What kept you sane?

Mr. Chili.

23. Who did you miss?

I’m finding that I STILL miss WeedWoman.  I’ve got to figure out how to get over that.  I miss Gerry. Honey and BlueMoon a lot, too, but I get to see them in the summer on the Cape and (and over February vacation in Florida!) and I can talk to them whenever I want, so that’s easier.

24. Who was the best new person you met?

I’m totally digging my new coworkers, and I’ve got a student or two who’s worked their little selves into my heart.

25. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:

I already knew this lesson, but it was driven home this year, especially; love ‘em while you’ve got ‘em.

Happy Monday, Everyone.

4 Comments

Filed under family matters, Friends, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, love notes, meme, memorials, messages from the Universe, movies, music, My husband rocks!, my oh-so-exciting life, on death and dying, pets, remembering, road trip!, ruminating, television