Daily Archives: August 8, 2010

The Universe Craves Balance

Alternately titled: How the Goo Goo Dolls Righted a Grievous Wrong.

So, it’s Friday night and the Chili and TwoBlue clans ventured into the hinterlands of the Lakes Region to see a concert.  Mr. Chili had discovered that Vertical Horizon and the Goo Goo Dolls were playing a double bill at the Meadowbrook pavilion during the week we were on vacation, and he managed to score us all some primo tickets for the show.

Here’s the thing; I have been a fan of Vertical Horizon for a very, very long time.  Not as long, however, as Mimi has known the lead singer of the group; Matt Scannell was friends with her son growing up and, as a consequence, he spent a fair bit of time with her family and it is plain, seeing them together, that there is a deep and abiding affection between them.  He came out for a bit to hug the TwoBlue family and to be introduced to us before the show (Beanie was very impressed, and has been bragging that she’s met a rock star.  I want to share a meal with the man and talk about writing, but that’s another post).  After a bit, we found our seats and settled in for what was sure to be a really terrific show.

image credit

And it was.  Matt and his group came out and rocked the house.  I’ve only ever seen him work his craft once before, and just like that other show, I spent most of the set in goosebumps.  I really do admire people who can make music, it being a skill I myself decidedly lack, and I was completely and totally enthralled by the work this man can do.

We were having a wonderful time when, about a minute or so into one of the songs, the house lights came up.  I didn’t think much of it – sometimes there are glitches like that as the back-of-the-house people monkey with the controls as they prepare for the next set – until, in the middle of the song, the stage lights went out.

I shit you not.  The fuckers at the venue TURNED THE LIGHTS OFF on the band.  Good thing they didn’t have a long shepherd’s crook.

Matt, graceful and far more gracious than *I* would likely have been, stopped playing, made a joke about guessing that his time was up, and relinquished the stage.  I, my family, and pretty much the entire section of people with whom we were seated were decidedly bullshit.

I spent a fair bit of time composing a nasty letter to the management of Meadowbrook (I’ll post it after it’s out of my head and written down; I have every intention of letting them know that I will likely never come to their venue again after that) and tried to stop seething in time to enjoy the Goo Goo Dolls (they were great, by the way, but the truth of the matter is that I really came to see Vertical Horizon…).  About halfway into their show, though, these gentlemen totally clinched my admiration; they announced that they were taking a short break so that Vertical Horizon could come back out and finish the song that they were playing when they were so rudely interrupted by the blackout of the stage lights.

image credit

AWESOME.

That was an incredibly classy move on the part of the Goo Goo Dolls, and while I liked them before, I like them quite a bit more now.  There was no excuse for how the venue treated Vertical Horizon, and I love that the Goo Goo Dolls didn’t let it stand.

5 Comments

Filed under admiration, dumbassery, love notes, music, My husband rocks!