If You Can’t Say Anything Nice….

I’m learning, however slowly, when it’s best to just turn off the t.v. or push the back button on the web browser or to walk away from a discussion. It’s often difficult, as I’ve been feeling practically baited lately, but I’m getting the feeling that this is a lesson the Universe REALLY wants me to learn, and fast, because It’s been presenting me with multiple opportunities to practice this skill lately.

MULTIPLE opportunities.

All the time.

I saw this on Ilovecharts.com the other day, and it struck me as particularly relevant.

I sometimes wonder whether people realize how little they’re actually engaged in real discussions; I’m willing to bet that what most people think are discussions are really far more one-sided than they think. I’m learning that life is way too short to engage people who think that way, and I’m getting better at figuring out when to walk away before I waste too much of my precious time and energy.

Sometimes, though? It’s hard.

7 Comments

Filed under concerns, dumbassery, frustrations, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, politics, social issues, technical difficulties, this is NOT a drill, WTF?!

7 responses to “If You Can’t Say Anything Nice….

  1. Sometimes it all comes down to how much you want to appear right versus how much you know that you are right. Usually I’m pretty sure that I’m right, so I don’t really need to do much more than state my case and move on. Sometimes a little snark goes a LONG way. :)

    Like for instance your constant need to assign your own thoughts to “the Universe”. I could come on here and hammer you over the head correcting you over it, and you could yell and scream at your computer and suffer through indecision on whether to respond or not. Back and forth and round and round… or I can ignore it most of the time, except on the rare occasions that it seems you’re going to miss an opportunity to do something with your motivation. You don’t follow me around telling me to burn incense and meditate and sacrifice chicken (or whatever it is you hippies do… :P) every time I blog about having a shitty day. I don’t need to give you too hard of a time about it. Message: “I care”.

    You’re welcome. ;)

  2. I have decided that I just don’t have the time or energy to deal with people in the “No” category.

  3. This is great! I need to show this to a bajillion people.

  4. Brandon

    Hi Chili. I’m curious about what the opportunities were that you walked away from. Were these typically in person conversations, or were they of the online variety? Did they involve topics that people typically have strong opinions on so you realized you wouldn’t be changing anyone’s mind, or was it simply that you knew the person too well and knew that you’d just end up frustrated, given past experience?

    • Brandon, yes – all of the above. The most recent episode – the one that inspired this post – was an online conversation that I chose not to even enter because I knew that a) my input would not be welcomed by most of the readership and b) my position would barely be fairly considered and most likely wouldn’t be respected.

      I’m learning that my head and brick walls are seldom compatible.

Leave a Reply

