Monday Meme

From my regular dealer.

Do you remember how you developed a love for reading?   I don’t.  I know I was reading very early – I came to kindergarten knowing how to read – and I suspect that, given the conditions under which I grew up, reading was a solace and an escape.

What are some books you read as a child?   I fondly remember The Monster at the End of this Book when I was little, little.  As a pre-teen, I loved Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys mysteries, then I moved on to The Witch of Blackbird Pond and Sugar Bee (which is out of print, but I managed to buy a copy from a library that was retiring it from their shelves).  I read Roots when I was 9 and Shogun when I was 10 (yes, I did).

What is your favorite genre?   I love pretty much everything, but I think I’m mostly attracted to historical fiction.

Do you have a favorite novel?   I don’t think anyone who reads here doesn’t know that the Outlander series is my go-to for giddy, joyful reading love.

Where do you usually read?   I most often read in bed, but I also am fond of cuddling up on the couch under a blanket and with a cup of tea by my side.

When do you usually read?   I most often read at night, but I have been known to head for the couch during a free afternoon.

Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?   Please.  I’m an English teacher; I’m ALWAYS reading more than one book at a time.  At the moment, in fact, I’m working on 4.

Do you read non-fiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?   Not really.  My training is in literary analysis, so I tend to approach everything I read with those skills and practices and habits.  The exception to that is the reading I do just for me; that’s more an exercise in pleasure than in analysis.

Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out of the library?   I am an unrepentant book whore; I love to buy books.  I’m getting better at buying used books, though; only rarely do I pay full price for a paper book.

Do you keep most of the books you buy? If not, what do you do with them?  I keep them.  I have two libraries going right now; one at home and one at school (since we have no money for books, I’ve taken to bringing in my own for the kids to use).

What are you reading now?   I’ve got The Help going with my seniors, My Name is Asher Lev with my juniors, To Kill a Mockingbird with my freshmen, and Contact with my Aliens and Vampires class.

Do you keep a “To Be Read” list?   Not so much a list as a pile, really…

What’s next to be read?   I never know.  Once I’m done with my “have to reads,” I’ll wander to the bookshelf and pick up whatever looks right at the time.

What books would you like to reread?  I will always reread the Outlander books.  I didn’t quite make it through all the Harry Potter novels last summer, so I’d like to finish that series once again.

Who are your favorite authors?   I love a lot of authors for a lot of reasons, but I tend to love the novels more than the writers; I’m pretty good at separating the authors from their work.

5 Comments

Filed under art and culture, books, meme

5 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Improbable Joe

    So you’re saying that you don’t like to read, and don’t see much purpose in it?

  2. Great meme. I may have to steal this one…

  3. LOL to Improbable Joe.

    I liked this meme, too. I don’t often analyze my reading habits.

  4. For reasons I never learned, my mom had this collection of Edgar Rice Burroughs books way back when, and I read them all when I was a kid, like before 5th grade. I really liked reading about John Carter on Mars, and Carson of Venus, and about Pellucidar, and, of course, Tarzan. I think my love of reading developed during that time.

Leave a Reply

