Monday Meme

Boosted from Kwizgiver.
1. Why did you sign up for writing your blog?

I was inspired by Kizz, over at 117hudson.blogspot.com.  I loved the idea of having a place to write that would be accessible to others; I’m someone who thrives on feedback, and I think that’s why I never took up journalling in the traditional sense.

2. Why did you choose your blog’s name? What does it mean?

I told that story here.

3. Have you ever had another blog?

I have several – check out the sidebar – but this and A Teacher’s Education are the places I most often post.  I’m gearing up for a hefty cooking season, though, and I’m sure I’ll be posting new recipes over at my kitchen site soon, too.

4. What do you do online when you’re not on your blog?

Facebook, Pinterest, reading other people’s blogs.

5. How about when you’re not on the computer?

Reading, cleaning, grading papers.

6. What do you wish people who read your blog knew about you?

I wish a couple of things.  First, I wish that people wouldn’t assume anything about what I think or how I believe.  I think I’m pigeon-holed a lot more than is fair.  Second, I wish that people would realize that just because I’m nice doesn’t mean I’m a doormat.  I fucking hate it when people assume that they can be mean to me because I make a habit of kindness and compassion.  It’s mean, and I don’t like it.
7. What is your favorite community in the blogosphere?

The one that’s right here.  I love my readers.
8. What is your philosophy on your blog layout?

I can’t bear to change anything.  I’ve found what I like and don’t feel the need to make it any different.  I’m sorry if some people are bored with that, but I’ve never been one who needs constant changes of scenery.  I strive for contentment; once I have it, I’m good for pretty much forever.

9. Tell me about your picture you use to represent you on your blog.

I love this image of the iris.  I use it for everything – it’s the wallpaper on my desktop and on my phone, too.  I love it because it’s elegant and beautiful.  I don’t necessarily equate those qualities with me (I tend to think of myself as plain and adequate), but I strive for beautiful elegance.

10. Pick 3 random blogs from your blogroll and tell us about them.

Just THREE?!  GAH!  Well, I love Kwizgiver because she’s got a zillion little things on her blog.  While I really appreciate the people who write long and careful treatises, I hold a special place in my heart for Kwizgiver’s steady diet of book reviews, internet memes, and meaningless little quizzes.  I never feel pressured reading her blog, and I love that I can pop over and get a dose of happy pretty much anytime.

I am loving Ed over at Gin and Tacos more and more and more.  If you’re not reading this guy, you should be.  He’s got a pretty wide cynical streak (some unhappy shit has been going down in his life lately), but he’s smart and pointy and isn’t afraid to look at an issue from an unflattering angle.

Even though he doesn’t post nearly enough for my liking, I’m going to include Carson’s blog in this list because, when he does post, he always gets me thinking.  I have a geeky academic crush on this man, and I always feel smarter after reading some of the things he has to say.  Even if he doesn’t give me any answers, he certainly gets me asking good questions.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, meme

2 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Donna

    I especially enjoyed your comments for No. 6. How unfortunate people who are nice are most often treated this way. Happy Holidays to you, your family and students!

  2. I am getting back to blogging more. I have been caught up in too many little silly things. Oh, I keep a list of blog topics. Yes, that list is pretty long.

Leave a Reply

