What Love Looks Like

A former student posted this on her tumblr (which I kind of hate, because I can’t comment on tumblr…).  Here’s yet another example of why people who want to limit marriage rights are wrong, wrong, oh-so-fucking wrong.

Sorry to frighten the fuck out of my new followers.

This is love.

I was dying, due to pc pneumonia and acute respiratory failure/distress.  I lost over 150lbs, one of my lungs collapsed and will never re-inflate, I had chest tubes, multiple IV’s, I was on a ventilator, had a tracheostomy, had to re-learn how to walk, talk, eat and breathe on my own.

My husband, was there for me EVERY. FUCKING. DAY. The amazing doctors and nurses at KU Medical Center ALL commented on how amazingly dedicated my husband was. How few husbands show such tenderness and love. I would have died, had he not been there to keep me going.

I have a man who wiped my ass for me because I messed myself in my hospital bed. Who held me, calmed me down and cared for me while I was delirious and had no idea where I was or what was going on. Who put up with my delirium induced anger and confused lashing out. I have a man who exhausted himself, between work, school, taking care of our home and animals and taking care of me, all full time.

Now, tell me that we are going to ruin the sanctity of marriage and I will bust your fucking teeth out.

5 Comments

Filed under admiration, GLBTQ/Ally issues, love notes

5 responses to “What Love Looks Like

  1. That pretty much says it all, doesn’t it?

    May whatever is out there (if anything) watching over us bless them and everyone like them.

  2. Nina Brookes

    I’ve been reading your blog for 2 years now, and I really wish you were my teacher. Most of my teachers are really homophobic, unfortunately.

  3. I’m saddened and angry by homophobic imbeciles who hide behind scriptures while ruining real people’s lives in the real world.

  4. What a beautiful testimony to love. I am sad to live in a world with such narrow-mindness.

  5. Not enough love in the world to trample on any of it.

Leave a Reply

