Monday Meme

From my dealer friend Kwizgiver:

1. Who or what bores you enough to mentally drift away?   Some seminars and waiting in line.

2. How many members of your family not living with you do you see on during the holidays?   Bruder Chili arrives a few days before Christmas and stays until just before New Years.  Auntie (my sister) and The Girl come for Christmas morning, but they (wisely) vacate before Mother and Father Chili come for dinner.

3. When spending time with family, how long after you arrive do you begin to feel “antsy” about being there too long?  For me, it’s less about how long they’ve been there than what time it is.  I’m ready for my house to be empty (or, at least, significantly quieted down) by about 6:30 or so.  This year, I’m kind of hoping to get everyone who isn’t living here out so that we can settle in and watch a movie or something to decompress.

4. Does your family more generally get along at a holiday gathering or are there generally arguments?   In the case of Bruder, Auntie, and the Girl, we’re downright affectionate.  We’re cordial – and occasionally friendly – with the in-laws.  Overall, it’s generally enjoyable and pleasant.

5. Are you ever embarrassed by your family around friends?   Oh, GOD!  On a regular basis, but in a good, oh-dear-God-he’s-singing-again kind of way…

6. Of the celebrities that died in 2011, who will you miss the most?   None of them.

7. When you watch a movie in a movie theater, do you like the theater filled to capacity, halfway full, or nearly empty? Does your answer change depending on the type of movie you’re seeing or do you feel the same way regardless of the movie or genre?   Huh!  I have never had reason to consider this question before!  I like empty theatres – less chance of annoying people interrupting my movie-watching experience that way.

8. What’s one really cool/useful/nice thing you purchased for yourself this year?   It’s a tie between the iPad and the iPhone.

9. Are you in the holiday spirit yet?  I suppose that depends on what “the holiday spirit” means.  We’re decorating, I’ve ordered the prime rib for dinner, and I’m planning presents and menus, so I’d say ‘yes.’  Of course, I don’t break out the Christmas music or the tacky sweaters or wear a Santa hat, so if that’s the definition we’re working from, then I never get into the holiday spirit…

4 Comments

Filed under celebration, Little Bits of Nothingness, meme

4 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. I adore Christmas music. I’ve been listening since Halloween. 🙂

  2. Hola, Mrs. Chili–I ‘m backkkkk. Couldn’t stay away.

  3. As the winter solstice approaches, I tend to have this dread of the chores involved with the usual preparations. You know, getting a tree, and putting it up and decorating it, then putting up the little village. Every year, I hope we just don’t bother. Every year, when we are doing it, I like it.

Leave a Reply

