Quick Hit: Chilly Chili

My beloved and I went skating today (because Punkin’ didn’t want us going skating with her and her boyfriend this evening).

When I was Punkin’s age, I was a competition-level figure skater.  I gave it up for a couple of reasons (that were really important to me at the time).  I think, if I actually had regrets, one of them would be not keeping up with the sport.

This is the first time I’d been on skates in 2 years – and that time, 2 years ago, was for about 40 minutes going around the rink.  Before that, the last time I’d really skated, I was about 14.

Not too bad, I’d say; I didn’t fall down.  The frustrating part is that my brain still knows how to jump and spin and be fluid and graceful on blades.  My body, however, seems to have forgotten all but the most rudimentary basics.

5 Comments

Filed under frustrations, fun, my oh-so-exciting life

5 responses to “Quick Hit: Chilly Chili

  1. Laurie B

    Well, I’m proud of you for knowing that your brain has enticed your body to try to do more even though your body can’t currently provide. You’ll have less pain in the morning for finding that too.

    Take a look at the video clip, other skaters are stopping to watch you skate. You’ve still got that form and in tai chi terms, you are still a player. Take up your practice again. Why not?

    Find ice time and go free skate and remember what it was that you loved in the first place. It has been yoga, but now might be ice skating. A working practice is not binding. It is always evolving and discerning and listening and responding. Need to skate? Go skate. Have fun, fun is good.

  2. Hey Sonja Henie, pretty graceful moves!

  3. ahh, that little shift in your centre of gravity makes a big difference

  4. Although I grew up in the frozen north, I never learned to ice skate. For that matter, I was terrible at roller skating (and pretty much all other sporting activities). I learned something new from your post about the young mrschili.

Leave a Reply

