Ten Things Tuesday

Yesterday, my husband and I were talking about how stagnant our dinner repertoire is.  I heard on the radio once that people end up eating the same five things over and over again, but I think we’ve got more than five.  Let’s see if I can come up with 10 things that regularly appear on the Chili dining room table, shall we?

1.  Mac and cheese.  This is a staple in our household in the winter.  It takes me no time to whip up and dear Goddess, but it’s yummy!

2.  Spaghetti (or, in some cases, tortellini).  The feature here is my spaghetti sauce; it’s thick and chunky and, well, yummy.

3.  Chicken pot pie.  Again, a comfort food staple.  I got this recipe from my grandmother, and it’s another that I can put together in no time.  Pair it with cheddar garlic biscuits and you’ve got yourself a meal.

4.  Steak.  I finally figured out how to cook a killer steak indoors; usually, steak is a summer food because Mr. Chili cooks it on the grill.  I’ve got a fool-proof method for cooking it indoors now, and though it sets off the smoke detectors, we’ve decided that’s a small price to pay for the gift of this meal.

5.  Baked chicken #1.  For this, I saute some spinach with a little garlic and some mushrooms, pile it on top of chicken breasts, cover it with a slice of provolone cheese, and pop it in the oven.

6.  Baked chicken #2.  This dish involves dredging the chicken breasts in egg and bread crumbs, then sprinkling it with a little garlic salt and baking  it until it’s crispy.  Sometimes I’ll top it with the aforementioned spaghetti sauce, sometimes it gets a little bruschetta topping and some cheese, and sometimes it’s cut into strips and served with honey mustard for dipping.

7.  Soup and sandwiches.  My favorite version of this is Progresso hearty tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich made with fresh mozzarella and roasted garlic paste.

8.  Last night, I expanded our repertoire with a pretty successful shot at sloppy Joes.  I paired them with steamed snow peas and sweet potato fries, and the entire family thought it was yummy.

9.  I don’t do it often, but I make a mean bbq beef in the crock pot.  I slap a big helping on bulkie rolls and toss a salad, and dinner’s done.

10.  Every once in a while – we don’t do it often – we have breakfast for dinner.  I’ll put a pound of bacon in the oven to cook while I make waffles and eggs (scrambled for me and Bean, over easy for Punkin’ and Mr. Chili).  Sometimes, I’ll skip the eggs and have a bowl of oatmeal, instead.  I actually like breakfast for dinner; maybe that’s what we’ll have tonight….

What do YOU have for dinner?

13 Comments

Filed under cooking, Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, ten things Tuesday

13 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. I have a few faves:

    Mac and cheese – homemade, not that boxed stuff
    Tuna casserole – I couldn’t eat when I was a kid. The texture was off. Now I use chunk tuna.
    Bangers and mash – sausage with mashed potatoes and gravy. DH’s favorite.
    Rosemary and mustard potato wedges. They are good with just about anything.
    We don’t have that much of a routine, though, when it comes to supper. If I find something I want to cook, I’ll just try it. I don’t think we repeat a month’s worth of meals.

  2. I’m salivating! I had peanut butter and jelly. 🙂

  3. M

    Bacon in the oven is the Best Thing Ever. I’ve been eating a lot of pizza lately. I need to get back into cooking, but I’m too lazy (says the girl with the food blog…).

  4. We have your chicken picatta fairly often. Ooh, and I’m a big fan of a pot roast. There are only two of us so it goes a long way in our house.

  5. Improbable Joe

    You take the batteries OUT OF THE SMOKE DETECTOR. Problem solved!

    Right now we’re letting Chef Mike do all of the cooking in my house, but when I get back to cooking the first thing we’ll probably have is rice and beans. It is incredibly simple, filling, and yummy as all hell. The secret is… but that would ruin the secret!

  6. I would read this now. My stomach is talking to me. Had a great steak and an awesome Cab at an up scale Houston place recently. Heavy $ but boy it was worth it. I love the dining experience. I just tend to spend way too much when I do.

  7. needsatimeout

    We are so bad at cooking! We make buffalo chicken mac and cheese, I make a mix of hamburger,rice,shreded cheese, and salsa it is pretty yummy all cooked together. Thanks for the tip on the Sloppy Joes, we are always looking for a side to go with this meal! Oh I use the crockpot for my husband favorite meal which is Kielbasa,pineapple,mustard,and apricot jelly. This response feels a bit braggy and I didn’t mean for it to sound this way. Most of the other stuff we make for dinner is throw premade stuff into a pot or nothing amazing!

    • Improbable Joe

      That doesn’t sound bad at all, I’m all about the “dump 5 things in a pot and heat” method of cooking. I can do more, but if I don’t have to then why should I?

  8. Once a year I make the world’s best lasagna . . . but this year I have no one else to eat it with me. hmmmmm

  9. My Honey is an enthusiastic hunter of new recipes. Very few failures, and some spectacular successes. However, tonight, we went to an Indian joint. I haven’t eaten Indian fare for years, and I really enjoyed it.

  10. MJ

    We aren’t any better with cooking. Our dinner is basically chicken breast and a salad.

  11. As for steak cooking. My Honey has gotten in the habit of using “steak rubs.” Maybe you’d like to enjoy such a thing later this month. They are basically amalgamations of spices, and they are terrific.

    • Yes, please!

      I’ve been checking cookbooks out of the library lately and copying down some of the more interesting recipes. My goal is to add a couple of stock meals to our line-up, and to have these be both reasonably healthy and not too calorically expensive. I’ll take suggestions if any of you have any!

Leave a Reply

