Ten Things Tuesday

Last Wednesday, Kwizgiver asked what songs we’d put on a Valentine’s Day mix CD.  That question inspired this week’s TTT:

1.  The Power of Two by the Indigo Girls.  This was (one of) Mr. Chili’s and my wedding song(s).  I loved it the moment I heard it, and it can still bring me to tears.  The closer I’m bound in love to you / the closer I am to free…

2.  Native Melody (This Must Be the Place), as imagined by Shawn Colvin.  Here’s the other song, and this one makes me cry, too.  I can’t tell one from the other / Did I find you, or you find me? / There was a time / Before we were born / If someone asks, this where I’ll be . . .

3.  The Best of What’s Around by the Dave Matthews Band.  I didn’t realize this was a love song until I really took time to listen to the lyrics.  The more I hear it, the more convinced I am that it’s about loyalty and commitment which, in my mind, are the foundations of a strong and healthy relationship.  See you and me / have a better time than most can dream / have it better than the best / so we can pull on through / whatever tears at us / whatever holds us down / and if nothing can be done / we’ll make the best of what’s around.

4.  Trust Me (This is Love) by Amanda Marshall.  This came off of her breakthrough album, and it’s another song about sticking it out.  You and I can walk on water / the river rises, we rise above / it may not look that way right now / but trust me, Baby, this is love.

5. Marry Me by Train.  It’s about head-over-heels, I’m-in-this-forever love, and I get that.  Together can never be close enough for me / to feel like I am close enough to you / You wear white and I’ll wear out the words I love you…

6.  You’re the First, the Last, My Everything by Barry White.  I mean, come on; it’s Barry frickin’ White!  The first, the last, my everything / And the answer to / all my dreams

7.  Farther to Fall by David Wilcox.  Well, what a surprise!  Another song about sticking it out!  We’ve come so many miles / we can make it if we don’t look down

8.  Sunday Morning by Maroon 5.  One of the (many) things I love about Adam Levine is that he’s not afraid to talk about the intersection of love and sex, and if ever there were a song about the intersection of love and sex, People, it’s this one.  Fingers trace your every outline / paint a picture with my hands / back and forth we sway like branches in a storm / change the weather, still together when it ends / that may be all I need…

9.  Lucky One by Vertical Horizon.  Once, when I saw Matt in concert at a teeny-tiny little venue (please, please, please come back!), he mentioned that most of his love songs were angsty and unhappy, but that this one was a stark departure (I take it things were going well for him at the time in that department; I hope they still are).  He wasn’t sure how he felt about that, but it seemed to be working for him.  I’ll volunteer to watch you / through the dreams that haunt you / I promise to wake you / before the fear overtakes you.

10.  Do You Remember by Jack Johnson.  I love this guy; he can sing about the most heart-rending stuff in a way that feels light and accessible but never campy or disrespected, and this song is one of my most favorites.  I was crazy about you then and now /  The craziest thing of all / Over ten years have gone by / And you’re still mine.

Happy Valentine’s Day.  What are YOUR favorite love songs?

7 Comments

Filed under art and culture, celebration, love notes, movies, My husband rocks!, ten things Tuesday

7 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Jack Johnson is one artist I can’t listen to. His stuff strikes me as completely drained of any emotion. It’s like he would sound the same singing of lost love, or buying a burrito at the inconvenience store. Just sayin’.

  2. I thought you were going for the Amanda Marshall twofer. Her Marry Me just slays me, every time. It’s the break, I think, that does it:
    We don’t need no preacher man
    Readin’ from the Good Book
    And I don’t want no fancy dress
    Ain’t no ceremony for the vows that I took
    From the moment I met you
    I have been blessed

  3. I made a CD like that for Cookiemaker a few years back. I don’t remember every track that’s on it off the top of my head, but I do remember these:

    “Softly” by Neal Schon
    “Everything I Do (I Do It For You)” by Bryan Adams
    “Always With Me, Always With You” by Joe Satriani
    “True Companion” by Marc Cohn

    • I found the CD and refreshed my memory…

      “The One” by Elton John
      “I’ll Stand By You” by the Pretenders
      “Amazed” by Lonestar
      “I Cross My Heart” by George Strait
      “To Be With You” by Mr. Big
      “Wonderful Tonight” by Eric Clapton
      “When I See You Smile” by Bad English
      “Faithfully by Journey”
      “Angel Eyes” by Jeff Healey
      “Take A Look At Yourself” by Coverdale/Page
      “Love Song” by Tesla
      “I Would Do Anything For Love” by Meatloaf
      “Storybook Love” by Willy Deville
      “Wherever You May Go” by David Coverdale

  4. I made a nice mixed CD for some newly engaged friends. Lots of great suggestions!

  5. This is a wonderful list, much of which I don’t know. Gonna listen to each one now, so thanks for posting links. I DO know (and still get shmoopy over) True Companion by Marc Cohn, however; my husband sang it to me at our wedding. Happy VD day!

Leave a Reply

