Lucky Thirteen

My Bean turns 13 today. THIR-TEEN! I can hardly stand it.

(Beanie in her younger days)

* What can I say about this kid? She is as familiar to me as my own heartbeat, and always has been.
* She’s easygoing and personable, and everyone who meets her comments about that part of her personality.
* She is an excellent example of what a compassionate human being looks like.  She is generous and thoughtful and kind.  She’s the first one to volunteer for community service projects at school, she regularly collects her outgrown clothes and toys to give away, and she is a good and true friend.  Sometimes, I worry that she’s too sensitive, but I can’t really find fault in it.
* She’s wicked smaht, crazy-observant, and an excellent critical thinker.  She’s also got a keen sense of funny and is able to see the humor in things that we sometimes miss.
* Every day, I’m grateful for the love and energy that this beautiful young woman brings into my life.  Thank you again, Bean, for picking me to be your Mommy.  I love you like crazy.
8 Comments

Filed under admiration, celebration, compassion and connection, family matters, general kid stuff, Home and Family, kid cuteness, love notes

8 responses to “Lucky Thirteen

  1. Improbable Joe

    Happy Birthday Carrot Top!

  2. Donna

    Happy Birthday Beanie!!! You take after your Mom!! What a sweet tribute she made to you. Have a wonderful celebration with your family! :) :)

  3. Happy birthday, Beanie!

  4. L B

    Again, Hippee Bird day to you Beanie! I hope that Hah-vahd is in your future! I really do. You’ve got the goods to go there and then beyond!

  5. Donna

    Top o’ the mornin’ to you! (the 17th…)

  6. nhfalcon

    Happy Birthday, Bean! :)

  7. She’s an easy girl to love, that’s for sure. Looking forward to seeing her, and the rest of the fambly soon.

Leave a Reply

