Ten Things Tuesday

Today is the Spring Equinox.  In honor of the occasion, I’m offering Ten Spring Things:

1.  Our ice cream shack opened up!

Yes; we went and got cones after dinner….

2.  PEEPERS!  My sister sent me an audio file of her peepers, but I didn’t hear any in my neighborhood until this afternoon (I’d upload the audio if I knew how…. sorry…).

3.  Bean got a new bike for her birthday, and she rode herself to school this morning.  I hopped on my own bike to pick her up and ride home with her after her drama practice this afternoon, and it was lovely to be out in the warm.

4.  I gave my car a good cleaning on Sunday, and I’ve very much enjoyed driving with the windows down and the sunroof open.

5.  If it’s going to be as nice as the weather prognosticators are claiming it will be tomorrow, my first period class will spend the time we have together outdoors, reading in the sunshine.

6.  I dug out some short pants and skorts to wear this week.  I haven’t done the semi-annual Great Clothes Switch yet (I know better than to think this glorious weather is going to last), but I did enjoy fishing out some warm weather clothes for the next few days.

7.  I pried open a couple of windows in my classroom this afternoon and let the breezes in.  I’m in a corner room on the top floor of an old mill building, so I get some good air.  The only drawback is that it blows my door around – I need to figure a way to wedge it open.

8.  Walking!  I very much enjoyed walking around Gerry’s neighborhood when I was there in February, and now it’s getting nice enough to walk around mine.  I’ve got a pretty good route mapped out that takes me about an hour to run (well… walk…).  I gave myself a good blister on Monday, though, so I need to let that heal a bit before I go out again (which is why I was just as happy to bike this afternoon).

9.  We’ll be taking the kids outside tomorrow and Thursday for lunch and advisory.  It’ll be good to let them get their energy out (they’re useless during the first few really nice days, anyway), but I’m going to have to figure out how to get my lunch outside; I’ve got a stack of microwave lunches lined up for this week.  Hmmmm… maybe I can get my school son to make a sandwich run for us…. hmmmmmm…

10.  I never realize how far down the cold and dark drags me until I reemerge into the warm and light again at about this time of year.  I start to feel more like myself when the weather breaks, and as I start shedding my protective layer, I find myself becoming more optimistic and energetic.  I hope the same is true for you.

Happy Spring!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. I’m with you on #10!

    It’s really, really gorgeous here in Northern Maine, too, although it’s going to be back in the 40s this weekend. Oh well, I’m enjoying wearing my short pants, too. A break from corduroys is always welcome.

Leave a Reply

