Daily Archives: April 10, 2012

Ten Things Tuesday

Ten foods I don’t really like:

1. Avocados.  It’s a texture thing.

2.  Black licorice.  I kind of despise anise, so it logically follows that I don’t like

3.  Fennel and

4.  Tarragon.

5.  Fish of pretty much any sort.  I’m very allergic to shellfish, but I dislike pretty much anything but tuna out of a can.  I don’t know whether it’s because fish makes me nervous or because I genuinely don’t like it, though.

6.  Hot peppers.  Really, I’m not a huge fan of peppers in general, though I will eat raw sweet peppers (cooked ones, for reasons I can’t begin to fathom, give me killer heart burn).

7.  Bananas.  I’ve never been a great fan of the things; I find that their flavor overpowers everything they’re in (or near).  Though I will consent to a good, well-balanced banana bread once in a while, I tend to avoid bananas as a general rule.

8.  Most cheeses.  Cheese (along with tomatoes and eggs) is one of my weird foods; I like it, but I only like it certain ways.  I’ll eat pizza and lasagna and grilled cheese sandwiches, but I won’t eat cheese on crackers and I don’t like grated parmesan on my pasta.  Cheese has to be melted (and mild – I will never understand my husband’s devotion to asiago – blech), tomatoes have to be cooked (I pick ‘em out of my sandwiches and salads), and eggs have to be mixed (no fried eggs, no boiled eggs; custards, scrambles, quiches, and omelets are just fine).  Weird, I know.

9.  Ginger.  I can stand ginger ale, and I don’t mind a little ginger in things like Chinese and Thai food, but that’s about it.  The people who can gnaw on a hunk of ginger root astound me.

10.  Coffee.  I love the smell, but can’t stand the flavor.  I don’t like it in a cup, I don’t like it in ice cream, and I think that mocha is a waste of good chocolate.

What’s on your “no, thank you; I don’t like that” list?

10 Comments

Filed under cooking, my oh-so-exciting life