Ten Things Tuesday

Ten foods I don’t really like:

1. Avocados.  It’s a texture thing.

2.  Black licorice.  I kind of despise anise, so it logically follows that I don’t like

3.  Fennel and

4.  Tarragon.

5.  Fish of pretty much any sort.  I’m very allergic to shellfish, but I dislike pretty much anything but tuna out of a can.  I don’t know whether it’s because fish makes me nervous or because I genuinely don’t like it, though.

6.  Hot peppers.  Really, I’m not a huge fan of peppers in general, though I will eat raw sweet peppers (cooked ones, for reasons I can’t begin to fathom, give me killer heart burn).

7.  Bananas.  I’ve never been a great fan of the things; I find that their flavor overpowers everything they’re in (or near).  Though I will consent to a good, well-balanced banana bread once in a while, I tend to avoid bananas as a general rule.

8.  Most cheeses.  Cheese (along with tomatoes and eggs) is one of my weird foods; I like it, but I only like it certain ways.  I’ll eat pizza and lasagna and grilled cheese sandwiches, but I won’t eat cheese on crackers and I don’t like grated parmesan on my pasta.  Cheese has to be melted (and mild – I will never understand my husband’s devotion to asiago – blech), tomatoes have to be cooked (I pick ’em out of my sandwiches and salads), and eggs have to be mixed (no fried eggs, no boiled eggs; custards, scrambles, quiches, and omelets are just fine).  Weird, I know.

9.  Ginger.  I can stand ginger ale, and I don’t mind a little ginger in things like Chinese and Thai food, but that’s about it.  The people who can gnaw on a hunk of ginger root astound me.

10.  Coffee.  I love the smell, but can’t stand the flavor.  I don’t like it in a cup, I don’t like it in ice cream, and I think that mocha is a waste of good chocolate.

What’s on your “no, thank you; I don’t like that” list?

10 Comments

Filed under cooking, my oh-so-exciting life

10 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. kizzbeth

    Bananas, mushrooms, cooked tomatoes, marshmallows, cooked zuchini/summer squash, eggplant. Anything with a mushy texture is likely to be on the list.

  2. Kwizgiver

    I’m with you on the bananas. I don’t really care for oranges, either, because of the texture.

    And people really eat ginger raw? I like it here and there but well cooked in foods.

  3. Wayfarer

    Just goes to show you… I’m only with you on licorice and fennel. The others I pretty much love!

  4. Improbable Joe

    You’re just wrong across the board. You need to sit down and have a long talk with your taste buds! 🙂

    What I can’t stand? It is a small list that used to be bigger… somewhere along the line, I embraced the “nasty” flavors like anise. I can’t stand runny eggs, overcooked squash, raw tomatoes, cheap beer, or the taste of schnapps.

  5. How do I follow you via … say, email?

  6. Audra

    Funny Mrs. Chili… I think you might starve at my house! I love knowing what people do and don’t like… helps balance the menu at the restaurant.
    Reader, via Kizz.
    Best,
    Audra

  7. fondofsnape

    I want to like bananas, because they’re good for you. But…yuck. Although, my SO encouraged me to try a banana and peanut butter sandwich the other day and to my suprise it was delicious! Here from Kizz 🙂

Leave a Reply

