Birthday Love

My sister (she of the dormant blog…) is celebrating another trip around the sun today.  As is my custom, I’m going to spend a little blog space celebrating her.

Auntie is someone who I would want as a friend, even if I weren’t related to her already.  There is something about her that resonates with me; perhaps it’s the calm confidence that she radiates, or the wickedly sharp sense of humor, or the fact that she’s an amazing person to have around in a crisis.

Our relationship wasn’t always a good one.  Our parents didn’t discourage sibling rivalry (and, in fact, did a number of things to foster it), so we didn’t really start to really see each other until we were well into our twenties.  While I wish it were different – I’m sorry for the time I missed with her – I’m really grateful for the value we place on our relationship because of it.  We understand, I think, how important our relationship is because it hasn’t always been important.

I wish that I could spend more time with my sister; our lives are both very busy and we live an hour apart.  For all of that, though, I feel like my sister is a constant presence in my life, and I’m grateful for that.

I love you, love you, Auntie.  I hope this year is your best ever.

3 Comments

Filed under admiration, celebration, family matters, holiday, Home and Family, love notes

3 responses to “Birthday Love

  1. L B

    Auntie, I too have missed you and hope that you and your beloved have all of the fulfilling life that you both can gather in and hold close. Wishing you many more bountiful and happy trips around the sun, may you gather in every ray of sunshine and love and also be loved like there is no tomorrow.

  2. Thank you Mrs. Chili! I love you very much and I look forward to spending more time with you after grad school. Sigh.

  3. Kwizgiver

    Happy birthday, Auntie!

    And, Chili, I understand the sister dance. I have three sisters–your post struck a chord with me.

Leave a Reply

