Snow White Saturday

Yeah, we did it.  We ponied up the cash to see this film in the theatres.

It wasn’t bad, but it certainly wasn’t good, either.  I’d been reading a lot of buzz about how the movie really drops some pretty important balls, and I can’t say I disagree with any of the negative assessments I’ve come across.  I would add to these criticisms some enthusiastic English-teacher scolding about how good stories are crafted; background for characters is important, interaction between characters that tells the audience important things about their histories or personalities is important, and for the love of all that is good and holy, we need to be able to relate (or, at least, sympathize) with characters.  Oy.

I will give it this, though; it was a fascinating movie to look at.  The visual effects were engaging, the costumes were complex and interesting, and the landscapes were convincing.  I don’t really feel that was enough to make up for the poor storytelling, though, and I’m kind of wishing I’d stood my ground in insisting we wait for the DVD release of this one.  There was SO much potential in this film – opportunity for the story to ask us important questions about power and relationships and loyalty and sacrifice – but all that potential was squandered in a flurry of feathers, tired cliches, and a few throw-away one-liners.

6 Comments

Filed under critical thinking, duh!, fiction, frustrations, ideas and opinions, movies, politics, ruminating, social issues

6 responses to “Snow White Saturday

  1. nhfalcon

    So you obviously don’t like it as an English teacher, but did you like as just an average Joe (or Jill, as the case may be…)? Not all of us go to the movies for important questions and morality lessons. Some of us just want to be entertained, perhaps even mindlessly so, for a couple of hours.

    I’m not trying to be snarky or a jackass here. I’m just trying to look at possibilities for the film from a different perspective.

  2. You know what? Not really. I mean, my expectations weren’t REALLY that high – even if my hopes were – but even when I’m looking for mindless entertainment, I still like a good, well-told story. Again, this film was BEAUTIFUL to look at, but had nothing of any substance to hold it together. I don’t remember who said it, but this movie reminded me of the quote that goes “beauty without intelligence is a masterpiece painted on a napkin.”

    • Donna

      Yes, with tech effects at its highest, brings in easy visual $ for Hollywood minus the story.

    • I saw it as well and was disappointed in the story and the acting. I felt it was unnecessarily weak and the big “mystery” at the end was so transparent that a child would’ve guessed it. The better take on the tale is ABC’s series, Once Upon a Time – and that’s not terribly great either, just more clever with better writing.

    • nhfalcon

      Cool. Thank you. I appreciate the review. Cookiemaker and I had it on our list of movies to maybe go see in the theater this year (such as, most recently, “The Avengers), but now we’ll likely skip over it and just wait for “Brave.”

  3. Donna

    Mrs. Chili, I just watched Sounder amongst many others. I’d recommend. Have fun watching movies with your family!

Leave a Reply

