Monday Meme

It’s a MOVIE MEME this week! Thanks, Kwizgiver!

 

1. What is your all-time favorite movie costume?  I love looking at period pieces.  The first thing to come to mind, of course, is John Adams, because that’s what I’ve been watching, but the costumes in Elizabeth were spectacular, too.

2. What classic film would you nominate for a remake?  I wonder about this – something we love about the classics is that they are, you know, CLASSICS and therefore don’t need remaking.  That being said, though, I’ve heard bits and pieces about a Wizard of Oz remake; that might be interesting, especially if it’s done with an eye to political criticism as Baum intended.

3. Name your favorite femme fatale.  I don’t really have one; the only one that comes to mind is Glenn Close’s character in Fatal Attraction.

4. Name the best movie title. The Hunt for Red October

5. Describe the worst performance by a child actor that you’ve ever seen.   I was never crazy about Anna Paquin.

6. Who gets your vote for most tragic movie monster?  I’m going with Kwizgiver’s answer, here; the Hulk

7. What is the one Western that you would recommend to anybody? Dances with Wolves.

8. Who is your ideal movie-viewing partner?   That depends on the genre.  Punkin’ and Sweet Pea are my go-to-girls when watching romantic comedies; Mr. Chili is my movie buddy for everything else.

9. Has a film ever made you want to change your life? If so, what was the film?   They kinda all do.  I’ve been inspired by a number of films.

10. Think of one performer that you truly love. Now think of one scene/movie/performance of theirs that is too uncomfortable for you to watch.

11. On the flip side, think of one really good scene/performance/movie from a performer that you truly loathe.

12. What is your favorite romantic comedy? Four Weddings And A Funeral

13. What is your favorite drama?   Oh, God; I can’t choose one.

14. Worst film you’ve seen? Dumb and Dumber.  I can’t believe we actually watched that whole film (though, in our defense, we stayed because we were enjoying the experience of the four 12-year-old boys seated in the row in front of us; that was the only redeeming quality of this film)

15. How do you feel about the majority of romantic films being labeled “chick flicks”?   I don’t love them, but I will (grudgingly) admit that some of them are quite lovely.

16. Favorite on-screen couple?  Harry and Sally

17. Favorite off-screen couple?  Joanne Woodward and Paul Newman, Hume Cronyn and Jessica Tandy, Will and Jada Pinket-Smith.

18. Best kiss in a movie?  This one, bar none:

(start at about 2:20)

19. Favorite scene?  There are a zillion of them.

20. Who are 2 film characters you wished had gotten together, but never did?  That’s a hard one; there really aren’t that many frustrated love stories that I’ve seen.  The only thing I can think of is Pepper Potts and Tony Stark.

21. Two actors you think would have great chemistry, but have never done a film together?  Will Smith and Queen Latifah.

22. Favorite song in a film (doesn’t have to be from a musical)?  The lullaby from Empire of the Sun:

23. Best score from a film?  There are a lot of films with beautiful scores.  Those that come to mind are Lord of the Rings, Dances with Wolves, Braveheart, and Glory.

24. Best film quote?  Oh, GOD!  I can’t pick ONE!  All right, how about this: “I do not think that word means what you think it means.”

25. A film you’d recommend that is a “Must See” for us to watch?  Again, I have a million of them.  For now, though, let’s just say that I think everyone should see Glory and Mississippi Burning, Schindler’s List and Dances with Wolves.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Monday Meme

  1. I’d go with “Unforgiven” as my fave Western.

Leave a Reply

