Ten Things Tuesday

Numbers!

1. 83; the number of houseplants that live at Chez Chili. Several of them are enjoying summer vacation on the back and front decks, and I suppose I COULD up my count to 85 if I include the two plants that are sharing pots with two of the ficus trees, but I have 83 separate plants living in their own pots. Phew!

2. 4; number of rejections I received from job applications last week.

3. 1; number of applications I have out that have yet to be rejected. This last hope is a one-year, temporary position at a high school, but I’ll take it if they offer it to me.

4. 2; the number of classes I’ll take at Local U. in September if I don’t find full-time work.

5. 11; the number of days until we make our annual haj to the lake. I honestly didn’t think we’d do the vacation with the parents again – last year was a little…. tense… – but we’re booked and ready to go.

6. 3; the number of paychecks I still have coming from CHS. On my to-do list is to apply for unemployment benefits. Oy.

7. 3; the number of bottles of ketchup I have on the basement steps. I noticed we were running low on ketchup the other day when I dug all the condiments out of the fridge for burgers, so I grabbed a double-pack when I was in the market today not knowing that I already had one in reserve. Oh, well…

8. 707; the page (out of 1443) in The Fiery Cross where I stopped reading this morning.

9.  0; the number of loads of laundry waiting to be processed.  I managed to get through all the clothes that were in the basement, though I believe I have a load of sheets in the drier waiting to be folded and put away.

10.  5; the number of days until we will likely see The Dark Knight Rises.  Punk gets a free day from band camp on Sunday, so we were thinking of signing her out and heading for a matinee, though she said she was looking forward to burgers at home for dinner.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Donna

    That’s great you are going to take graduate courses, Mrs. Chili! Do something you feel good about that will further your career. Go for it. Your plans sound great. Sorry about the unemployment. Everyone faces it–try not to take it too personally. It’s more than likely a sign of the economic times. You are doing great–give yourself a pat on that back!! Enjoy the summer with your girls and Mr. Chili!

  2. Great googly moogly that’s a huge book!

    And I can’t believe how many plants you have. My Black-Thumb-Of-Death kind of itches just reading about them.

  3. I’m surprised at how itchy I am to get out there and see The Dark Knight. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

