Pintesting: Cleaning Grease Spots

I wasn’t thinking, you guys.  I SHOULD have taken a “before” picture, but I didn’t, so you’re just going to have to take my word for it.

I came home yesterday afternoon to find a grease spot on one of my chairs.  One of my grey-black chairs, too, so it was pretty obvious.  It SEEMED like baby oil or something similar – it may have been butter; I don’t know.  All I do know is that it was slick and oily, and when I pressed a napkin to it, grease came up.

I remember seeing a “spot cure” on Pinterest, so I logged in, typed “grease spot” in the search box, and came up with this.

So I gave it a try…

(here’s where I’ll post a picture when my phone starts agreeing to outgoing mail again… sorry…)
I had two different grinds of cornmeal, and I decided to start with the larger grain.  I left it on overnight and vacuumed it up the next afternoon.

It was a total failure.

(here’s where I’ll post a picture.  It turns out that I didn’t really NEED to take a “before” picture, because it looks exactly like the “after” picture).

Cornmeal may take some of the edge off a grease spot, but it doesn’t do anything to remove it.  I had to flip the cushion over.

Whatever.

2 Comments

Filed under General Bitching, Pin Testing

2 responses to “Pintesting: Cleaning Grease Spots

  1. It’s not pinterest, but plain old original blue Dawn dish soap gets grease out. It even works on my construction worker husband’s clothes.

  2. I would have gone with the finer grain, too. More chance, I think, of getting more surface area on the grease.

Leave a Reply

