Monday Meme

Boosted, with gratitude, from Kwizgiver.  I have the feeling this one’s going to be hard for me to finish…

1. How would you describe your childhood in general?  Difficult

2. What is your earliest memory? I’m pretty sure one of my earliest – and clearest – memories is taking my little sister to school with me.  My mother wouldn’t get out of bed, so I got my two-year-old sister out of her crib, changed her diaper, put her in a snowsuit (I don’t remember dressing her – I probably did – but I recall the snowsuit) and taking her to kindergarten with me.  Freaked the teachers right the hell out.

3. How much schooling have you had? I hold a Master’s degree and am working toward a post-graduate certificate.

4. Did you enjoy school?   DID I?  Eh.  Do I now?  Most definitely.

5. Stop and count; since you were born until today, how many homes have you lived in? 12

6. While growing up, did you have any role models?   Not until I hit my teens, no.  Even then, I recognized that my role models were complicated and not everything I made them out to be.

7. While growing up, how did you get along with the other members of your family?  Not even a little.  My parents didn’t promote harmony, so my sister and I didn’t come to any kind of terms until we were well into our 20’s (and away from their influence).  We’re very close now.

8. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?   I wanted a happy family.  Growing up, I KNEW I could do better than was done with me.  I was right.

9. What were your favorite activities 3 years ago?   They haven’t changed much in three years; cooking, reading, and teaching.

10. As a child, what kinds of personality traits did you display? I was an annoyingly precocious kid.  Bookish, smart, and shy.

11. As a child, were you popular?   Not at all.  Coming from the environment that I did, self-confidence wasn’t exactly part of my make up.

12. When and with whom was your first kiss?   A boy kissed me in 2nd grade.  I think his name was James.  I remember him swooping in, laying one on me, then bolting down the hall at full speed.

13. Describe any influences in your past that led you to do the things you do today.   Well, I think we’ve established that I learned how NOT to parent at an early age.  I was also influenced by some great teachers, and they helped me settle into my profession.

14. What’s next? I’m going to power through another hour with this paper.  Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, my oh-so-exciting life

Leave a Reply

