Thought for Thursday: Fear and Rage

I’m not one to gloat.

It’s not that I don’t have feelings of in-your-faceness, it’s that I want to be a better person than that.  While the facebook universe was exploding with “suck it, Republicans!” messages, the only bit of bitter celebration I allowed myself was this, mostly because I thought it was more funny than mean.

As the confetti settles and we try to regain a sense of normalcy after the insanity that marked the last few weeks (to which I completely surrendered myself), it’s interesting – and more than a little scary, sometimes – to see what’s happening with the people who feel that they “lost.”

The first thing I saw on Wednesday morning was this:

The accompanying news article says that it was a “mistake” and that the “flag pole is broken” and that accounts for the presentation (which, for those who might not know, is an indication of extreme distress).  I’m not sure I buy that story.

This seems to be a popular item among the disappointed.

This astounds me.

The thing that continues to amaze me is the depth – the genuine, honest-to-goodness truth – of the fear that so many people harbor.  I know this isn’t a joke to them – they are really, truly scared, and I can’t for the life of me figure out why.  No one is coming for them.  No one is trying to undermine them.  No one has it out for them.

My greatest wish for the next four years is that the angry and frightened stop – just for a short time – and really look at what’s going on outside their bubble.  The economy is growing.  Wars are ending.  Equality is a good thing.  You are not under attack and your country is not disintegrating before your very eyes.  Take a deep breath.  Turn off Fox and Beck and Limbaugh for a month and see what happens.

Come back to us.  We miss you.

2 Comments

Filed under admiration, celebration, critical thinking, Friends, frustrations, GLBTQ/Ally issues, love notes, messages from the Universe, Parenting, politics, ruminating, this is NOT a drill, Worries and Anxieties

2 responses to “Thought for Thursday: Fear and Rage

  1. When I read this stuff (and I’ve been pretty careful not to read much) I just remember that I felt this scared when Bush won his second term and before this election. I still feel that the people on the margins are working specifically toward killing people like me. It doesn’t make me agree with these folks any more but I do feel like I can understand what they’re feeling. A little.

  2. The difference, though, Kizz, is that the policies put up by the “other side” really DO present a tangible threat; the tea party ideology (to say nothing of the “arm yourselves because they’re coming for you” rhetoric from the likes of Beck) foments fear and hatred that lead people to violence.

Leave a Reply

