Ten Things Tuesday

The Creativity Faerie has abandoned me for the moment; you get randomness.

1.  I’ve just about had it with winter.  It doesn’t help that Joshua Yetman is posting gorgeous photographs from Grenada on a fairly regular basis over at his blog.

2.  The girls’ winter break is next week.  We don’t have any plans to travel, and I’m both pleased and frustrated by this.  While I like the idea of not having to deal with the stress of travel, I’d kind of like to go someplace with palm trees and temperatures above 40°.

3.  I’m having a hard time keeping up with my blog reader.  I’m thinking it might be time to trim some of my subscriptions.

4.  Having said that, I’m disappointed that MAB and Gerry aren’t posting anymore.

5.  We started watching Downton Abbey on Netflix, but they don’t have the second season, so Mr. Chili found a way to stream it through his iPad.  Because we haven’t gone to get a connector that will stream the signal to our t.v., Mr. Chili, Punk, and I all huddle together on the couch and watch the iPad propped up on one of Punk’s music stands.  I have NO idea how we’re going to access season 3.

6.  Also?  I got a Downton spoiler on the road yesterday.  I pulled up to a stop light behind a car that had a “free Mr. Bates” sticker on it.  I was not happy.

7.  My class is going well.  I seem to have figured out what the professor expects from the weekly reaction papers, which leads me to believe that I’ll do okay when it comes time to compose the final research review.  I ought to get started on that.

8.  I have a girl who comes to my strength classes at Local U. who concerns me.  I think she might be exercise-addicted; she brags about how many classes she’ll attend in a day.  I might bring her up to my supervisor; we’re expected to keep an eye on our regulars to make sure they aren’t engaging in unhealthy habits, and the top of the list of things we watch for is over-participation.

9.  I can’t believe that Mississippi just ratified the 13th Amendment THIS WEEK.  Well, no; I CAN believe it, but you know what I mean.

10.  This:150083_2760068896786_1434622517_n

10 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, ten things Tuesday

10 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Maimie sent me links to all the season 3 episodes. Oh, how I love her right now…

  2. I love Downton Abbey. I have yet to start on season 3, but man season two is great. Speaking of great, watch House of Cards on Netflix. Wow!!!!!!!

    • We’re watching House of Cards. I’m particularly thrilled whenever Spacey’s character looks into the camera and addresses the audience; it feels very Iago-ish to me. We’re up to episode 5, I think – the one where the union hotel refuses to host Claire’s fundraiser, so she throws it on the front steps.

      • I just finished season 1 on Sunday; I too love it when he looks at you and lets you into his head. I cannot get over how great this show is. In truth, I never would have watched it if students did not continue to talk about it daily.

  3. Downton Abbey, season 3: Check on PBS.org. I *love* that show! 🙂

  4. Christina

    I was just going to say the same thing about PBS.org. Also keep an eye out because they may even begin to reshow them all on tv.

  5. #5. Apple TV mirroring. Oh wait…

  6. Anonymous

    I try mightily never to seem threatening to any woman anywhere. I sometimes feel bad overtaking a woman when I’m walking, because only I know I wouldn’t do anything to them.

    • The thing is, Anonymous, it’s got almost nothing to do with you, and that’s the sad part. YOU know you would never do anything to harm a woman – and neither would most men, I think – but we just can’t make that assumption. For our own safety, we have to assume the worst about every man we encounter, and I think that diminishes everyone’s humanity.

Leave a Reply

