March Madness #5 / Ten Things Tuesday: Movies

The prompt asks for movies I never grow tired of watching.  That’s an easy Ten Things Tuesday.  (Please note that these are in no particular order)

1.  The Last Samurai.  This is the only film I have loaded on my iPad.  There’s something about the themes of this film – friendship, redemption, honor and trust – that resonate with me.

2.  The Hunt for Red October.  I can pretty much quote the entire film from opening credits to closing credits.

3.  I, Robot.  I love Will Smith on general principle, but this film shows, I think, that he’s capable of being contemplative and edgy without having to resort to wise-ass.

4.  Glory.  I haven’t watched this film in a while, but it remains one of my all-time favorites.  I didn’t think I’d be able to get past Matthew Broderick, but I did, and there are a couple of scenes in this movie that rock me every time I see them, no matter how many times I’ve seen them before.

5.  Mississippi Burning.  It’s not a happy film by any stretch of the imagination, but Gene Hackman’s performance is stunning – maybe even his masterpiece.

6.  Apollo 13.  My husband is an engineer, and this scene gets him every time.

7.  Dances with Wolves.  I am the proud owner of the 3+hour director’s cut.  I am not a huge fan of Kevin Costner in general, but this film is important to me.

8.  I just realized I’m pretty light on comedies.  I will always stop on My Cousin Vinny whenever I’m channel surfing.  Fred Gwynne cracked me up.

9.  I’m also always up to watch So I Married an Axe Murderer.

10.  My favorite Pixar joint is, without a doubt, Finding Nemo, but I really do love them all (even Cars, which I was sure I was going to hate).

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “March Madness #5 / Ten Things Tuesday: Movies

  1. Kwizgiver

    Great list. We had the same idea!

  2. Wayfarer

    I left My Cousin Vinny off my list by accident, but I deliberately passed over Finding Nemo because I watch that movie about 20 times during the month of April every year (4 times through for each of my five French I and Spanish I classes). I still enjoy it, but I don’t feel the need to watch it at any other point during the year any longer.

  3. *slaps head* I knew I forgot something–I love The Last Samurai!

Leave a Reply

