Quick Hit: DAMMIT!

A couple of months ago, I hit my limit.  I decided that enough was enough; I wasn’t going to get any heavier than I was at that moment and I wasn’t going to allow myself to continue to be out of shape and tired all the time.

I bought myself a fitbit during the second week of February.  I reconnected to myfitnesspal.com to track my diet.  I started going in before (or staying after) the fitness classes I teach to get an extra hour of exercise in.  I acquired an elliptical trainer to use on days when I can’t leave the house (because of snow, for example) or when it’s just too ugly to be out doors.  I’ve convinced my husband to start taking 3+ mile walks with me when the weather’s decent.

I had a REALLY good couple of exercise/diet weeks, so when I went into the gym this morning to do my weekly weigh-in, I was looking forward to being able to log some good progress.

I didn’t lose a fucking ounce.

I’m trying not to get discouraged; I understand that it’s not about weight, that muscle weighs more than fat, that any number of things can account for the lack of movement, blah, blah, blah.  I really wanted to be able to log a smaller number, though, and I’m not going to lie and say that I’m not pissed that I can’t.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Quick Hit: DAMMIT!

  1. Hello again, Mrs. Chili! I lost your blog address for a while but just looked you up on Google and found you again. I know how frustrating it is to work and work and not lose anything. But it sounds like you’re doing the right things so hang in there.

  2. Oh honey…. I have been on a plateau for weeks up – 2 down one and so on. And yah…that whole muscle vs fat thing gets old. Pushing through but not happy about it. I have actually found that it is helpful to go clothes shopping or at least trying on. I did this other day and was happy to find myself in a size smaller. Just saying….

Leave a Reply

