Monday Meme

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these.  Props to Kwizgiver for the prompt.

1: Who is your favorite Musical Artist from when you were a teenager?  To be honest, a lot of my favorites when I was a teenager still hold; I liked Genesis, The Police and Sting, and Rush.  My tastes have expanded quite a bit, but I still listen to all of these guys.

2: Who is your favorite game show host?  Drew Carey on Whose Line is it, Anyway

3: Who is your Favorite Blog hosting service?  WordPress.  I was with blogger for a while, but I’ve been very happy with WordPress.

4: If you could meet anyone again from your childhood, who would it be?   Remember the story I told you about visiting my uncles when I was a kid, and about all the crazy people they paraded through their kitchen in an effort to see how much diversity we could handle?  One of those characters was a flamboyant drag queen who loved me the moment s/he saw me.  The feeling was mutual.  Not long after that summer – I don’t remember exactly when, but it was that same year – she was murdered when someone tried to pick her up and discovered she wasn’t what he thought she was.  I was – and still kind of am – devastated.  I’d like to see her again.

5: Where did you want to live when you were growing up?   Anywhere but in my own house.

6: What is the most interesting piece of Trivia that you know?   I’m having a hard time coming up with something interesting.  I can tell you about the Great Molasses Disaster in Boston in 1919.  It happened on my birthday (January 15th) and it’s said that, in some places and under certain conditions, one can still smell molasses residue left after the cleanup.

7: If you could live in any point of history when would it be and why?  I don’t know that I’d want to live in any other time in history; we have great technology and medicine and all.  If I had to, though, I would choose either the late 50’s and early 60’s (for the Civil Rights Movement), or the late 30’s or early 40’s (for the fashion).

8: What is the most interesting job you have ever had?   I loved teaching.  I’m dearly hoping to be able to do it again soon.

9. Please share one middle school memory. It can be good, bad, ugly, funny. Pictures or words, I don’t care, just share.   I played Grace Farrel in Annie in 5th grade.  I can still sing my part to “I think I’m gonna like it here.”

10. What’s your favorite Beatles song?  Oh, that’s a hard one; there are a lot of really great songs to choose from.  Today, I think, it’s Eleanor Rigby.  Ask me again tomorrow, though, and my answer will likely be different.

11. If I asked you to describe your most comfortable outfit, what would it be?   “Woobie” clothes: a pair of drawstring or elastic pants (often fleece, but not necessarily), a waffle-weave shirt, and these socks.

12. Would you rather host a party or be a guest?   I’d rather host, really; I like taking care of people.

13. Do you think we will move completely from traditional books to digital ones, and if we do, are you OK with that? I doubt seriously that we’ll ever move completely.  I get a lot of flack from my English teacher friends for liking digital books, but I make no apologies.

14. Do you learn best by reading, listening or experiencing?  I think I get the most out of listening, but I’ve done really well at integrating all of these learning styles.  I think that’s part of what makes me a good teacher.

15. If you are (or when you were) single, what is the kiss of death for you concerning the opposite sex? (That is, what is one trait or behavior or habit or anything at all that immediately turns you off from considering that person a potential match for you?) Oh, I had a list of deal-breakers.  Drinking to excess, illicit drug use, abuse, homophobia, “conservative” values, religious fervor… there were a bunch.

16. Snacks. Salty or sweet?   That depends.  I lean mostly toward sweet, but sometimes I really crave salt.

17. Look around you in a four foot radius. What object is around you that you didn’t realize was there or forgot was there? How long has it been there?   Today was a bad day to ask me that question; I just finished a major reset and housecleaning spree, so everything is (finally) back where it belongs.

18. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie?  It’s a toss-up between The Last Samurai and A Few Good Men.

19. You buy a bottle of shampoo and discover that you don’t like what it does to your hair at all. What do you do with that full bottle?   Offer it to the girls or throw it away.  If I’ve only used it once and I still have the receipt, I may return it, but not usually.

20. Your favorite spring comfort food?   Fruit and yogurt.  Yesterday’s Easter brunch reminded me of how much I love melon; I’m going to see if there are any in my market this afternoon.

Happy Monday!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Oh, I simply adore Sting and The Police! I also miss terribly “Whose Line Is It, Anyway”.

  2. Kwizgiver

    I’m going to see Sting in June! 😀

Leave a Reply

