Quick Hit; Saying Goodbye

Almost seven years ago, a couple opened a little creperie in our hometown.

The shop, which used to be a local breakfast joint, is teeny-tiny. Seriously; you can barely fit 6 tables in the place. Chris and Theresa moved in after the breakfast place closed (much to my dismay, I have to admit; Jake’s had the best home fries ever) and, I have to say, did the spot proud. Theresa takes orders and tends the register and tables while Chris makes the crepes and banters with the customers; they strike a really nice balance of professional and personal.

They managed an impressively extensive menu of crepe fillings, too; everything from ham and eggs and spinach and Gouda to apple pie and – my favorite – Nutella, AND they had a rotating selection of seasonal specials. While a meal there was not cheap – we couldn’t get out for less than about $30 bucks – as an occasional treat, it was well worth it.

935305_616235711738568_820423106_n

I found out, via Chris’s facebook page, that they’re moving south and closing up shop. We went in this morning to have one last feast and to wish them well on their journeys. I’m going to miss them.

946167_613279895367483_1480846535_nimage credits: Chris

5 Comments

Filed under admiration, celebration, compassion and connection, cooking, discoveries, Friends, fun, funniness, Home and Family, my oh-so-exciting life, remembering, this is NOT a drill

5 responses to “Quick Hit; Saying Goodbye

  1. nhfalcon

    I have to admit I never bothere to try the creperie. When I swung by that fateful day and found that the location was no longer Jake’s, I never bother going to that part of that town again. To this day it still boggles my mind that Jake’s couldn’t stay open. That place’s breakfasts were AMAZING!

  2. That’s too bad, Falcon; you missed out not only on some sublimely yummy offerings, but some really great fellowship, too. Chris and Theresa are wonderful; the experience of brunch there was about much more than just the food.

  3. Gerry

    I find these little stories sad. Often, I’m sure, they are accompanied by financial hardship, and the sad end of a dream, and a sense of failure.

    • You’re right, Gerry, but I don’t think that’s the case here. I get the feeling that they’re moving on by choice (though I could be completely wrong about that and they’re just putting on a brave face for their fans). Regardless, I wish them every success going forward; they really are good people.

  4. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha
    plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

