Memorial Monday

This is how I honor the fallen:

I teach young people to think critically, to solve problems collaboratively, to be champions for social justice, and to be morally and constitutionally opposed to violent conflict resolution.  I promote education everywhere and in any way I can.

I do everything I can to promote generosity, compassion, justice, and kindness in my own sphere.

I’m raising children who are critical thinkers, who are unafraid to show others decency and understanding, and to whom war is unacceptable.

I’m participatory in my political system.  I read.  I listen.  I pay attention.  I advocate for and support the causes that have at their core a humanist and compassionate mission.

I yearn for a time in our future when armed conflict will be not only unacceptable, but unnecessary.  I am not so naive as to believe that such a thing will happen in my lifetime (in fact, it often feels as though we’re heading gleefully in the opposite direction of that goal), but I am hopeful that, with education and compassion, we’ll someday figure out that we are inextricably connected to one another and dependent on each other for our mutual survival and comfort.  I’m doing what I can in this life to promote those ideals; I know it’s not enough, but it’s all I’ve got.

970027_491165877624038_252224887_n

Leave a comment

Filed under admiration, celebration, Civics on Saturday, compassion and connection, critical thinking, doing my duty, family matters, holiday, Home and Family, ideas and opinions, memorials, messages from the Universe, Parenting, politics, ruminating, social issues, teaching, this is NOT a drill

Leave a Reply

