Monday Meme

Boosted, with love as always, from Kwizgiver.

 
1. What’s something you hide about your personality?   I’ve gotten pretty good at hiding most of my insecurity.

2. How do you deal with criticism?   Criticism, or feedback?  Criticism makes me defensive; I welcome – in fact, I seek out – feedback.

3. What’s something sweet you’d like someone to do for you?  The only thing I want right now is a job.  I’m still waiting to hear back from the interviews I had last week.  There should be some sort of policy against having decisive interviews on a Friday afternoon….

4. Which fictional character would you most like to have lunch with and why?   Oh, how to choose just ONE?!  Gandalf would be fun to lunch with, as would Captain Picard.  Do I really have to explain why?

5. Who would you say is your “anti” role model? Someone who serves as a warning rather than an inspiration?   God.  ANY of the current pop culture obsessions.  I saw a teaser on a news show this morning about one of the Kardashians.  I truly could not care less if I tried.

6. What’s the most infuriating thing your parents (or caregiver) do?   There were far, far too many to list.

7. Which movie character do you most identify with and why?   Even though this is kind of cheating (as she’s a real person), my answer is Leigh Anne Touhy from The Blind Side.

She makes absolutely no distinction between her children.  “Those are my kids” gets me every time.  I love like that.

8. You’re an Action Movie Hero. What’s your weapon of choice and the line you scream when defeating your arch enemy?   I’ve got to tell you, Natasha Romanov from The Avengers really worked for me.  While I don’t know how well I’d do with the hands-on kind of combat, her quiet confidence was appealing.  I don’t know about screaming a line; I’d probably be more apt to offer a “let’s do this” challenge.

9. What’s the oddest term of endearment you’ve ever used or that someone’s used for you?   I call my nephew “Noodle” every once in a while.  I have no idea where it came from, but there it is.

10. What was something you used to enjoy, but was ruined for you? What’s the story behind that?   Though I do technically still enjoy some of their work, the fact that both Tom Cruise and Mel Gibson outed themselves as kind of despicable human beings is something I have to actively work around.

11. Which mythological creature are you most like? Why? And if you could be any mythological creature, which would you want to be? Why?   This question has completely stumped me.  Maybe I’d like to be a faerie or an elf (LoTR version, of course).  Long life, community with the Great Energy, and some magical skills would be cool.

12. Describe your dream library.   A great library has (or has access to) anything anyone might want to read, watch, or listen to, is staffed by skilled and dedicated librarians, and has free parking and comfy chairs.

13. If you could design an amusement park ride, what would it be like?   This is going to sound completely lame, but I’d design a sort of river ride that moves passengers through great cities and different time periods.  It would be cool and soothing and interesting to look at; sort of an antidote to the wild, frenetic, and hot that usually defines the amusement park experience.

14. Do you have any “rules” about food?   I have three ‘weird’ foods; tomatoes, eggs, and cheese.  I LIKE them all, but only specific ways.  Tomatoes have to be cooked (or cut into small dice and marinated in something vinegary).  Eggs have to be mixed; I like quiche and scrambled eggs and custard, but I can’t abide fried eggs or hard boiled eggs.  Cheese has to be melted.  I didn’t have my first cheeseburger until I was well into my 30s because most places just slap a slice on the burger and call it even; I need to have the cheese completely melted before I’ll eat it.

15. What’s your opinion on age differences in relationships?   Age gets less important the older the participants get.  Mr. Chili and I are separated by 7 years, which wasn’t a big deal when we were married (at 27 and 34), but if Punk, at 16, decided to start dating someone who was 23, we’d have pause for concern.

16. What’s something you want to do that you’d be embarrassed to tell other people about? There’s nothing embarrassing on my to-do list.

17. Describe a time/event in your life that you’re nostalgic for. With all the birthdays we just celebrated, I’m a little nostalgic for the time when my babies were really babies. Looking back, we’re not sure how we managed with a 21-month-old and a newborn, but we did it, and more than that, we enjoyed it. While I wouldn’t want to do it again now – I just don’t think I can be that sleep deprived again – I do look back on that time in our lives with loving fondness.

Happy Monday, Everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, my oh-so-exciting life

3 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Sending all kinds of good mojo your way for your interviews and their results!

  2. Thanks, Kwizgiver. I’m trying to send in a hostage negotiator to deal with my inner pessimist; she’s commandeered the scene and is taking prisoners. I know she’s only trying to protect me, but I don’t want ‘negative’ to be the energy that I’m sending into this adventure.

    As soon as I know, you’ll know.

  3. nhfalcon

    Good meme. That’s one of the better ones, which is saying something. I may have to steal it…

Leave a Reply

