Monday Meme

Boosted from Bean’s tumblr page, actually.

MUSIC ASKS

1: A song you like with a color in the title – The first one that comes to mind is Lou Gramm’s Midnight Blue.  “I’m coming back for you.. See, I’m savin’ up my love…”

2: A song you like with a number in the title – DUH.  The Power of Two by the Indigo Girls.  It was Mr. Chili’s and my wedding song.

3: A song that reminds you of summertime – Vacation by the Go-Gos

4: A song that reminds you of someone you would rather forget about – my maternal biological was in love with the Bee Gees, so anytime I hear them, she comes to mind.

5: A song that needs to be played LOUD – Oh, there are SO MANY.  Driving the Last Spike by Genesis is the first one that popped into my head, though, so that’s the one you get. 

6: A song that makes you want to dance:  This one’s got a great beat.  I’m kind of loving Maroon 5 right now. 

7: A song to drive to:  All of them.  If I don’t have NPR playing, I’m listening to either Pandora or a random selection of my extensive iTunes collection.

8: A song about drugs or alcohol:  St. Theresa by Joan Osborne.  I loved that whole album. 

9: A song that makes you happy:  Stay Up Late by the Talking Heads.  Mr. Chili and I dance to it whenever it comes up on rotation.

10: A song that makes you sad:  Fare Thee Well by the Indigo Girls.

11: A song that you never get tired of:  There are, truly, far too many to count.

12: A song from your preteen years:  I was 10 when the Police released Message in a Bottle.

13: One of your favorite 80’s songs:  I still love Faith by George Michael.

14: A song that you would love played at your wedding: Aside from the aforementioned Power of Two, we played Shawn Colvin’s version of the Talking Heads’ Naive Melody (“if someone asks, this is where I’ll be…”) 

15: A song that is a cover by another artist:  I may get some flack for this, but I much prefer the Counting Crow’s version of Big Yellow Taxi to the original.

16: One of your favorite classical songs:  I’m in a big cello phase right now.

17: A song that you would sing a duet with on karaoke:  The girls and I regularly sing Vertical Horizon songs in the car; does that count?

18: A song from the year that you were born:  Stevie Wonder released My Cherie Amour the year I was born.

19: A song that makes you think about life:  Raven by Dave Matthews 

20: A song that has many meanings for you: The Soul Cages by Sting.

21: A favorite song with a person’s name in the title:  Einstein on the Beach by the Counting Crows.

22: A song that moves you forward:  The Walls Came Down by the Call.  “I don’t think there are any Russians / and there ain’t no Yanks / just corporate criminals / playing with tanks…. wake up, wake up!”

23: A song that you think everybody should listen to:  The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald by Gordon Lightfoot.

24: A song by a band you wish were still together:  Huh.  I kinda can’t think of one.

25: A song by an artist no longer living:  A Boy Named Sue by Johnny Cash.

26: A song that makes you want to fall in love:  Best of What’s Around by Dave Matthews.  “See you and me / have a better time than most can dream / have it better than the best”

27: A song that breaks your heart:  Time by Sarah McLachlan “You see love / a tight, thorny thread that you spin in a circle of gold / to have me, to hold me /a token for all to see / captured to be yours alone.”

28: A song by an artist with a voice that you love:  I’m kind of loving Adam Levine right now, so anything by Maroon 5 is fun.  I ran to Beautiful Goodbye this morning.

29: A song that you remember from your childhood:  I remember literally every song from my childhood.  I have a freakishly good memory for songs; I’d have make a killing at Name That Tune.

30: A song that reminds you of yourself:  I Will Not Go Quietly by Don Henley.  “I will NOT lie down.” 

(This is also a good answer to #5, too)

Happy Monday, All!

2 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, music

2 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Kwizgiver

    I’m boosting from YOU!

  2. Please do, and come back here and link to it when you’re done!!

Leave a Reply

