Quick Hit: Thinking

This is likely going on my next classroom wall:

Screen Shot 2013-06-24 at 8.06.47 AM Screen Shot 2013-06-24 at 8.06.57 AM

While I say that the scenes with Banner and the Hulk are my favorites, this scene gets me EVERY DAMNED TIME.

The upstander is right; there ARE always men like that.  His refusal to kneel is important, and I’m thinking more and more that we shouldn’t have to suffer individual outrages to find the courage to stand up.  How long before we figure out that we are all diminished when any of us are abused, exploited, or forsaken?

I was having a conversation with a dear friend last week about this.  His contention is that the outrage has to reach high enough up into the social classes for there to be any real movement; that in order for there to be a collective and concerted push-back against the system, people who are now comfortable have to be made uncomfortable.

I know he’s right, but I reject that thinking wholesale.  Why should I have to personally experience injustice in order to be outraged that others are abused?  What’s up with the politicians who suddenly have an epiphany about equal rights only after someone they love comes out to them?  I mean, I get the whole “walk a mile” idea, but I’m pretty sure that was meant to be a figure of speech; is our sense of empathy so dulled that we can’t imagine what life must be like for others?  Can we really not muster up the energy it takes to imagine that other people don’t live our lives?

I saw this on Postsecret this weekend, and it got me thinking:

heyjude

I think the answer for a lot of people is, “they don’t.  They just don’t.”  I think that it never occurs to most people to see beyond their lives and their situations and their concerns.   That frightens me, really, because without a sense of empathy, we really have no way of saving ourselves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

