Quick Hit: Impatient

I can’t wait for us to hurry up and get to the point where same-sex couples are completely accepted as normal.

This afternoon, Mr. Chili and I had a “date” to celebrate our anniversary (which was yesterday, I know, but yesterday wasn’t convenient for a date, so we decided to go today).  Bean had to be at the park for her play before I got back from yoga, so Mr. Chili took her and hung around until I got there.  I came home, showered and changed, drove into town, left Punk at the park, and Mr. Chili and I strolled into the heart of Quaint Coastal City.

We had a lovely lunch at a restaurant we’d never been to before (at a table on a deck over the water, so we had a stunning view of the harbor and the bridges and the tugboats).  Afterward, we decided to stroll through some of the shops, so we took to the street.  There, we encountered a lesbian couple out enjoying the beautiful afternoon – just like we were –  holding hands – just like we were.

My only thought was “you go, Girls.”  I’m sure there were others, though, who were thrown off (at best) by these ladies out enjoying their day together.  I’m in a hurry to get through that part; I want for this to be the new normal.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Quick Hit: Impatient

  1. Being in an interracial marriage, I sorta get that. But, as I am sure is the case for them, they are shocked at how few people give them that look. I am. 21st century will change things for gay/lesbian couples. I am optimistic.

  2. rantingwoman

    100% agreement

Leave a Reply

