Monday Meme

Boosted (and then modified) from Bean’s tumblr.

What song do you listen to when you’re feeling down? – I don’t have any particular music that I listen to when I’m feeling down.  I DO listen to The Tallis Scholars when I’m feeling anxious, though, like during bumpy airplane rides or dentist appointments.

Do you drink tea or coffee? – I do not like the taste of coffee, though I love the scent of it.  I consume obscene quantities of green tea, always cold and with a splash of juice for a bit of sweet.

How many languages can you speak? – I only speak English, though I have a passing familiarity with Spanish and I could probably get back up to functional fluency in ASL if given a few months of intensive study.

Tell us three fears. – Well, as I mentioned above, I’m not crazy about bumpy airplane rides or dentist appointments.  I’m also heebed out by earwigs.  Blech.

What was the last board game you played? – Does Bananagrams count as a ‘board game’?

What was the last book you read? – The last book I finished was Await Your Reply by Dan Chaon.  I enjoyed it enough to finish it, but I didn’t love it.  I’m making my way through The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova right now.  I started it months ago, but had to put it down when I started school (paper writing took precedence).  It was long enough ago that, when I picked it up again, I started at the beginning.  I’m just about to where I stopped last time.

Have you ever walked into a glass door? – Not in a VERY long time.

Who’s your biggest celebrity crush? – I’m finding that my tastes are aging right along with me; my favorite movie stars are older men.  Jeremy Renner is the only one I can think of right now, though.

What would you do with 1 million dollars? – I’d stop stressing about finding a job.

Tell us three things that, as a parent, you disapprove of? – I don’t want my kids to lie to me about where they are, who they’re with, or what they’re doing (does that count as three, or just one?).

What is one thing you’d like to change/fix? – ONE THING?!  JUST ONE?!  I’d like to fix my current employment status.  I’d like to fix the fuckwads trying to mess with women’s  and voters’ rights.  I’d like for my kitty to feel better.

Name three of your favourite blogs.Carson‘s site.  Jim‘s place.  Rob‘s blog.

Name three Disney movies that you adore. – I’m going to assume that Pixars don’t count here.  I like Atlantis, Mulan, and Tarzan, though not necessarily in that order.

When’s your birthday? – I was born on January 15th, 1969, at 10:15 in the morning.

What do you aspire to be? – I want to find a job where my enthusiasm, talent, passion, and energy are respected and appreciated.

Do you sponsor a cause? – Oh, a BUNCH of them.  We donate money to Planned Parenthood, The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, and the Red Cross.  I lend my support to pro-choice organizations, LGBTQ and equal rights causes, and I offer my time to GOTV efforts.

Do you play/watch sport? – I don’t think yoga counts as a ‘sport,’ so no, I don’t play sports (beyond backyard games of paddle ball and frisbee).  I watch whatever Mr. Chili’s got on (yesterday, it was tennis), but I’ll watch football on my own.

Do you play an instrument? – I don’t, and I only sing in the car.

What’s your favourite colour? – I don’t know that I have a favorite; it kind of changes with my mood.  I’m most attracted to autumn colors; greens, browns, dark blues, that sort of thing.

Happy Monday!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Lewis Martin

    I am coming over from Caron’s blog and I am with you, I like it. I also enjoy my many visits here. I do more reading that commenting. I love your sponsored causes.

  2. This blog is what I do each AM as I check the news and drink my coffee.

  3. Lewis, WELCOME! I love, love, love my reading community; you’re all the reason I do this.

    Carson, I’m honored to be part of your day. I can’t wait until I can do it in person more often!!

Leave a Reply

