Customer Service: You’re Doing it Wrong

So, I went to Sears yesterday and bought a bathing suit, right?  This one, in fact:

Screen Shot 2013-07-11 at 10.43.41 AM

Though each piece was sold separately, they were both on sale, so I got them.  I’m not thrilled with the design (it’s a bit busy for me), but I DO love the cut of the top, so I came home and hopped online to see if they had the same kind of suit in a different color/pattern.

As I was doing my searching, I discovered that I paid WAY more for this suit than it’s being sold for online, so this morning I got onto online chat with Land’s End to see if I could get the difference refunded to me.  Land’s End prides itself on being customer-friendly (a reputation that it (mostly) deserves).  I mean, look; the section of Sears is called THE LAND’S END SHOP (emphasis mine).  The products all have Land’s End tags; it’s all the same stuff.  Given that, I should be able to bring in my receipt and the web pages showing the difference in price and have the difference given back, right?

Wrong.  I have to return the pieces to the store, then order THE SAME BATHING SUIT from the online shop (they told me I could place the order on a computer in the store, saving me the shipping costs).

So, let me get this straight.  I’m going to return a bathing suit that I was overcharged for, order THE SAME SUIT online for less money, and wait three days for it to be shipped to me.

Does Land’s End even understand that they’re losing money on the deal?  Wouldn’t it be MUCH more cost-effective (not to mention reinforcing of their whole “customer focused” reputation) to just refund me the difference and let me keep the suit I already bought?  They get that I ALREADY HAVE THE SUIT, right?  That I don’t NEED a warehouse worker to go and pull a different one from the stock and package it, then have a delivery guy (my postman or a UPS worker or whatever) to drive it to my door?  Who the hell is doing THAT math?

I am not happy, but I’m going to do it.  Losers.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Customer Service: You’re Doing it Wrong

  1. Should have told you to try REI. You will spend a bit though. Most people do not think of REI for this type of stuff.

  2. There isn’t an REI near me, but there is an Eastern Mountain Sports. I’ll check them out after I return the suit this afternoon.

  3. I can’t stand stuff like this, Mrs. Chili. It makes no sense, whatsoever. I was inspired to Tweet both Lands End and Sears about your situation: https://twitter.com/ellenmgregg_nh/status/355353535904366592

  4. searscares

    Mrs. Chili,

    Hi, my name is Brian and I’m with the Sears Cares Team. I was able to locate your post regarding your recent experience with your swim suit purchase. We apologize for any frustration we’ve caused in regards to price matching your item and we’d like to offer our assistance in making sure this is resolved quickly and to your complete satisfaction. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Mrs. Chili), and the phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for any trouble we have caused and we look forward to speaking with you.

    Brian H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

Leave a Reply

