Quick Hit: Better than I was Expecting

Mr. Chili and I went to see World War Z this afternoon.

I’m not a big fan of “icky” entertainment; while I am the first to admit that a good action/adventure flick (even an uber-violent one) is a great way to spend a couple of hours, I don’t relish the horror/suspense genre. I went into the theatre with some hesitation; I watched the first two seasons of The Walking Dead and was regularly heebed out, so I wasn’t sure whether this film was going to be even marginally enjoyable to me.

It was. It was a thinking zombie movie, and by that I mean that it was far more about finding a solution to the problem than it was about zombies shuffling around ripping people to gory shreds (though there was a little bit of that). Brad Pitt was entirely satisfying in the lead role, too; he played a devoted family man (the scene where he was saying goodbye to his children – all of them, even the one he adopted after his parents were infected – made me well up in the theatre) who was more about smart than stud. The suspenseful scenes were less about panic and more about thinking the problem through. It totally worked.

I didn’t read the book, so I can’t give you an opinion about the fidelity of the film to the themes of the novel. CV Rick did read the book, though, and really enjoyed it. On the strength of my opinion of the film, I might pick up the novel; I’m betting it’s a good read.

While I don’t think I liked the movie well enough to put it on pre-order on Amazon, if I find it in my favorite second-hand DVD shop for 5 bucks, I’ll buy it. If you haven’t seen it yet, do, even if you miss it in the theatres; I don’t think it’ll lose anything as a rental.

1 Comment

Filed under art and culture, books, ideas and opinions, movies, my oh-so-exciting life

One response to “Quick Hit: Better than I was Expecting

  1. It’s a good book. Engaging style and some really thoughtful plot paths. You’ll know exactly which chapter finally made me cry.

Leave a Reply

