Nearly Wordless Wednesday

I remember.

1457750_10151804753477568_1544192762_n

When I was 12, I spent a week with my uncles in Providence (it was the week that Charles and Diana were married).  During that week, my uncles tried, I think, to shock Auntie and me (we were all of 12 and 8 at the time) by parading the most out, loud, and outrageous members of their LGBTQ friend group they could find through the house.

One of those characters was a flamboyant, exuberant transgendered woman who loved me the moment she saw me.  The feeling was mutual.  She scooped me up and loved me in a way that my lonely, rejected 12-year-old self was dying to be loved.  Of all the people who visited that week, SHE came back for a second visit (so she could see me again, she said), and I remember trying to absorb all of the radiance and love she gave me.

Not long after that summer – I don’t remember exactly when, but it was that same year – she was murdered when someone tried to pick her up and discovered she wasn’t what he thought she was.  I was – and still kind of am – devastated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

