Ten Things Tuesday

The “It’s Fucking COLD Out” edition.

1.  I learned today that babies are MUCH easier in the snow than old people.  I took Father Chili shopping this morning, and I’m here to tell you that navigating an old person (with a walker!  YAY!) over and around snow banks and across icy sidewalks is a recipe for instant stress ulcers.  At least you can hoist little kids and carry them over the really treacherous spots.  Oy!

2.  I’m reiterating, for about the zillionth time, my love of heated seats.

3.  Upside?  My entire garage is now a refrigerator.

4.  It’s snowing again.  We got a good blast on Sunday, and we’re due for another 3-6 tonight.  All the girls’ after school activities have been called off, though, so that means that once we get home, we get to STAY home.

5.  I don’t even want to KNOW what my gas bill is going to look like after this month.

6.  Toeses has given up completely on going outside.  He’ll consent to spend some time in his fleece bed in the garage, but he hasn’t set foot outside the walls of the house in a couple of weeks.

7.  It’s cold here, but it’s even colder up north.  I was listening to Maine Public Radio this morning (on the way to shop with Father Chili; he likes classical music), and every time they broke for a weather report, they were talking about temperatures below zero.  No, thank you.

8.  Black ice, People.  It’s a thing.  Let’s be careful out there.

9.  Car turds (the yucky collections of snow, ice, sand, and grit that build up on mudflaps this time of year) are gross.  I try to kick them off before I pull in to the house, but my garage floor inevitably ends up a puddle of all that yuck.  We walk through it on our way out of the car, too, so it manages to make a mess of my entry hall, too.  Blah.

10.  One of my former students posted a status today in which she lamented that she wasn’t born a species that hibernates.  I concur.  With that, I’m off to the couch with a fleece blanket, a good book, and a mug of tea.

Stay warm, Everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. I feel your pain. It’s snowing yet again. I’m just hoping they actually clear the snow/ice from the building entrances this time around to avoid a repeat of the actions that happened on Monday.

  2. Makes me happy that our snow lasts about 1/2 a day! Yay, New Mexico sunshine! I like to look at it, and after 2 years in Colorado, 4 years in Northern Montana, and 3 years in Alaska, don’t EVER care to spend the entire winter dealing with it ever again.

  3. Profesora, let’s be careful out there, no?

    Wow, Lisa; that’s quite a travel-log! New England is kind of hit or miss in terms of the snow; we either have a relatively light winter or we get fucking hammered. The weather dudes are telling us to expect a “hammered” season. Chili is not amused. The one bright spot (pardon the pun) is that Mr. Chili oriented our house so that the driveway faces DEAD SOUTH. That helps a lot; one of our winter pastimes is guessing how many attempts the oil delivery guy is going to make up our neighbors’ driveway (which faces dead NORTH, is a pretty steep hill, and is essentially impassable from December through late February).

Leave a Reply

