Ten Things Tuesday

In keeping with yesterday’s post about habits, here are ten things I do every day:

1.  I tell my husband and my children that I love them.  I usually do this more than once, but for sure I tell them as everyone’s leaving the house in the morning and just before we all retire for the night.

2.  I exercise.  Unless there’s something going on that prevents me from this, I get in at least an hour of sweat-inducing activity a day.  It’s usually done on an elliptical machine (sometimes at the gym, sometimes in my basement), and on a really good day (like today!), I’ll get that hour and follow it up with an hour of yoga.

3.  I drink green tea.  I managed to kick my soda habit (at one point, I’m pretty sure I was drinking the equivalent of a six pack of cola a day; now I’ll have a diet Coke once or twice a week).   I carry around a Hydroflask of green tea with a splash of juice for sweetness with me everywhere I go, and I’ll refill it at least once a day.

4.  I eat chocolate.  Not a lot of chocolate, mind you, but I literally never don’t have at least a nibble every day.

5.  I make the bed.  I never used to do this, but I do it now.  It’s a silly little thing, but I really do feel better when I leave my room neat.

6.  I chat with Marc.  A day literally doesn’t go by when I don’t connect with my brother in some way – usually on facebook chat.  If nothing more, we greet each other in the morning before we head out to our respective days, and then say goodnight before we turn in.  His presence in my life is important to me.

7.  I play Words with Friends.  My most active opponents are Marc and Gerry, but I have games going with a bunch of other people, too, and I look forward to firing up my iPad just before bed to play.

8.  I floss and rinse.  I love my dentist – he really is a lovely person and is incredibly competent – I just don’t love what he does and I really don’t want to have to spend too much time with him.  I started the floss-and-Lysterine habit last year, but I let it lapse a bit lately.  I’m back on the wagon, so to speak; I want my next check-up to be as easy as the last one was.

9.  I read.  When I’m done with all my Words with Friends (unless Marc’s up, too, and keeps throwing words at me), I’ll stash the iPad and read for as long as my eyes will focus.  I’m most of the way through The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison at the moment.

10.  I write.  Usually here, and often nothing of any consequence, but I do write every day.  I’d like to get better at that; I may start working on longer, more nuanced pieces as I settle into the coming semester.  We’ll see.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Wow!!! You moved quickly on Morrison. I just cracked it open.

Leave a Reply

