Monday Meme

A quick one today; I’m working on the schedule for my Comp I class and I need to not procrastinate for very long.

What is your biggest dream/goal in life?

Honestly?  I kind of have it.  When I was little (and living in a completely dysfunctional family), all I wanted – all I wanted – was to have a strong, stable, happy marriage and children with whom I shared relationships based on love and respect.  I have that in spades.  Even if I were to die tomorrow, I would consider my life pretty damned well lived.

Is there anything that you’re hiding?

Now that the holidays are over, no.  I suppose we can take yesterday’s post as evidence that I’m hiding knowledge about some of my friends, but that’s about it.

Are you willing to die for anything?

I have never been put in a position where I was challenged with my life, but I can imagine a number of things that, if it could be made better by the sacrifice of my life, I’d gladly do it.  We went to see The Book Thief yesterday and I’d like to think that, were a situation so dire that my life would be in danger – say, hiding a victim from an aggressive oppressor – I’d be willing to do the right thing even if it meant the possibility of my demise.  Really, though, I’m not important enough that my death would really mean much in a big picture.

Do you drink?

Alcohol?  Only occasionally, and never to excess.  I’ll have a Mike’s or a rum and Diet Coke every now and then – sometimes, a glass of wine with dinner out with friends – but that’s about it.  I am constantly drinking green tea, though, if that matters to anyone.

Have you been head over heels in love with someone?

I am still head-over-heels in love with my husband.  Going on 21 years, and I still get butterflies when he pulls up the driveway.

Is there anything that you can’t live without?

There are plenty of things that I’d really have to re-adjust to be without, but I think that the honest answer to this is, “no.”  I could adapt to the absence of pretty much anything that I currently enjoy, though I’m sure with varying degrees of success, depending on what’s missing.  I’d be fine without, say, those aforementioned rum and Diet Cokes without too much work, but it would take me a long time – likely the rest of my life – to adjust to my day-to-day without my husband.

Have you ever felt like you’re in a one-sided relationship?

I have.  I have been in a one-sided romantic relationship and several uneven friendships.  Fortunately, none of my relationships currently fits that description.

What’s the bravest thing you’ve ever done?

I divorced my parents when I was seventeen.  I knew it was either get the emancipation, run away, or die, and only one of those options was acceptable to me.  I didn’t think that it was brave at the time, but as I see my elder daughter reach the age I was when I started looking for an attorney, I marvel that I was able to have the fortitude, the wherewithal, and the strength to strike out on my own at such a young age.  It’s really a wonder I survived.  It’s even more of a wonder that I ended up where I did.

When’s the last time you’ve been overly kind to someone?

I utterly reject the idea that it’s even possible to be “overly” kind to someone.  I do what I can to practice everyday kindnesses.  I make eye contact and smile at people.  I let people merge.  I hold doors and say “please” and “thank you.”  I try to give freely of my time and my attention.

What is something that you truly believe in?

I’ve been thinking about this ever since my visit to Carson’s class on Saturday.  I believe that there is something – call it a spirit if you must – that animates these bodies that we’re living in.  There  is something that makes us each uniquely who we are, and I believe that that something does not die when our bodies fail.  That energy has to go somewhere and do something.  I do not claim to have any insight into what that might be, but I don’t believe that the thing that makes us who we are simply ceases to exist when our bodies die.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Monday Meme

  1. … and it is your last point that students continue to bring up the most. We need to work harder on the wine thing. I love that we are friends and that I know you.

Leave a Reply

