Subway, Anyone?

So, the “right” has its panties in a bunch over the fact that Subway has teamed up with First Lady Michelle Obama’s efforts to educate the American public about healthy eating and exercise.

SubwayImage credit

Did I say “panties in a bunch”?  Actually, it’s more like they’ve collectively lost their shit.

I’m going out of my way to buy Girl Scout cookies this year because certain elements of the right have claimed that the Girl Scouts are teaching girls to be uppity, abortion-crazed lesbians (they don’t use those exact words in that exact order, but you get the idea.  Also, I’m not going to link to any of the sites that are promoting this nonsense; you know how to Google if you really want to see it).  When JCPenney put themselves in the right’s cross hairs over ads that were inclusive of gay and lesbian families, I went out of my way to go shopping there (and made a point of letting the company – and all my friends – know why they were getting my money).   Now, it looks like Subway will be getting more of my business, too, if for no other reason than I want to support whatever the “right” wants to undermine.

The pathology here is fascinating.  No one had a problem when Jared was telling everyone to eat at Subway, but then again, Jared was, apparently, a non-offensive white guy.

Subway-Jarad-Content-Marketing-Ad

Image credit

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Subway, Anyone?

  1. Brandon

    Well, I like Subway and will continue to eat there despite of this little partnership. Their schtick has always been about eating healthy, so It’s not totally surprising that this partnership would occur, although I would think that they did weigh what the reaction would be in announcing a partnership with her.

    I do take issue with your pathology comment. Jared and Michelle Obama are in no way comparable in terms of who would elicit more of a reaction. The implication that this is simply another racist reaction by conservatives because she is black simply ignores the fact that there are major policy differences between conservatives and the Obama administration.

Leave a Reply

