Ten Things Tuesday, Plus One

I was uninspired today, so I asked my brother for TTT topic suggestions.  He came up with a bunch, but none of them grabbed me until he suggested “ten great quotes from authors.”  I’m going to kill the two proverbial birds; I’ll get a TTT post AND have fodder for my classes’ morning writing prompts.

1.  ‘There are three things all wise men fear: the sea in storm, a night with no moon, and the anger of a gentle man.’ – Patrick Rothfuss  I love this quote, and it’s kind of inspiring me to read some of this man’s work.

2.  ‘Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable.’ – John F. Kennedy

3.  ‘Dissent is the highest form of patriotism.’  – Howard Zinn

4.  ‘You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.’  – E. L. Doctorow

5.  ‘Sometimes, questions are more important than answers.’  – Nancy Willard

6.  ‘Activism is my rent for living on this planet.’ – Alice Walker

7.  ‘There is no passion to be found playing small, in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.’  – Nelson Mandela

8.  ‘If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor.’  – Desmond Tutu

9.  ‘Caring for myself is not self-indulgence; it is self-preservation, and that is an act of political warfare.’  – Audre Lourde

10.  ‘Tolerance becomes a crime when applied to evil.’  – Thomas Mann

Marc included this one:

“The world is indeed full of peril, and in it there are many dark places; but still there is much that is fair, and though in all lands love is now mingled with grief, it grows perhaps the greater.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday, Plus One

  1. nhfalcon

    Of course Marc chooses a Tolkien quote. 🙂

    And of course I’m tempted to try to guess the speaker – Sam? Faramir?

  2. No secret how I feel about the late Howard Zinn.

Leave a Reply

