Nearly Wordless Wednesday: Emotially Tone Deaf

Sometimes, my mother-in-law is more than I can stand.

Take yesterday, for example.  There’s some old sheet music that features two old relatives of Mother Chili’s mother in the living room, right?  One of the ladies had Grandmother’s last name and the other had a different last name.  When we asked Mother what the relationships were, she explained that one was a great aunt of hers (Grandmother’s aunt on her father’s side) and the other, a cousin of some stripe, “only married in, so she wasn’t really family.”

Take a moment with that, if you would, and recall that I was standing RIGHT THERE.

Most of the time, the stuff Mother says just washes right over me.  Every once in a while, though, she catches me up short.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Nearly Wordless Wednesday: Emotially Tone Deaf

  1. I think I need to re-map (if I may) your conversation in order to process the relationships here. Man!

  2. Rowan

    Yes, I can relate to this! When I asked if I could have my deceased paternal grandmother’s treadle sewing machine my father’s sister said she’d “…really like it to stay in the family.”. Hmmm, is there something I didn’t know?
    Sometimes we just have to consider the source I guess.

  3. gerry

    I understand completely.

Leave a Reply

