Thought for Thursday

I pick up my Girl Scout cookies this afternoon.

I came across this the other day:

Even though I completely understand the desire of the organization NOT to be political, I DO feel like my purchase is a political statement. I WANT girls to be given every opportunity they can – to learn, to grow, to challenge power, and to be autonomous, whole human beings. The fact that now, in 2014, we’re still having “debates” about things like pay and contraception and education is ludicrous to me so, yes; my purchase of Girl Scout cookies is an exercise in activism.

I’ll come home this afternoon with 5 boxes each of Thin Mints and Caramel deLites (formerly known as Samoans). I’m looking forward to sharing these treats with my friends, family, and students, and using them as a spark for conversation about the ways in which we continue to shortchange our girls.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

