Monday Meme

Another question:

Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

My first answer is, of course, I’m worried about doing the right things.  The more I think about it, though, the more I realize that I rarely worry about doing the right things; I always seem to have a really good feel for what the right things are, so I don’t tend to spend a lot of energy agonizing over my choices.

There are, however, a lot of things I worry about doing right; I think that people who really care about the work they do should worry about whether they’re doing it right.  I worry about my parenting all the time.  I worry about my classes and whether or not they’re sufficient (sufficiently challenging, sufficiently rigorous, sufficiently paced).  I worry about my friendships; am I spending enough time/paying enough attention?  I tend to not “worry” about my marriage, though that is something that I nurture literally every day.

So, on balance, I guess I do worry more about doing things right than about doing the right things.  What about you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

