Back on the Wagon

For a very, very long time, I wrote here literally every day.  Sometimes I’d write about things that mattered to me and sometimes I’d write about fluff and nonsense, but I wrote every day.

Then, I started to get self conscious about this habit.  Was I doing it because I WANTED to, or was I doing it because it was just something I did?  When I looked back on all I’d written, would I be proud or nostalgic about what I’d committed here, or would it be a catalog of the aforementioned fluff and nonsense?

It was that reflection that led me to let go my daily writing habit for a while.  I spent time on facebook, I spent time with my friends and family, I read books and took classes and did stuff.  Every once in a while, I’d stop by to drop a bit of thinking or to save something important that I’d want to look back on (Kes and the kittens, most notably), but I never really came back with any kind of focus or commitment.

I have decided that I don’t like not writing, though.  I feel as though I’m a bit adrift.  I mean, sure; I have a ton of stuff on my facebook wall, but the brevity of facebook posts and statuses and comments do not lend themselves well to any kind of critical or sustained thought (and facebook is a bitch to search) so I’m using our April vacation as an excuse to get back into the habit of regularly getting my thoughts and experiences down.  One of the things I truly treasure about the time I spent blogging regularly is that I can look back on important events in my life – from vacations to my mother’s illness and death to the making of new friends – and have not only the time and dates that these things happened, but also my thinking and feeling about them as they were happening.

So, friends and comrades, I’m back on the writing wagon.  I’ve missed you.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Back on the Wagon

  1. Kwizgiver

    Missed you!!!!

  2. Glad to hear you’re coming back!

  3. Jen

    It’s very good to see you back! I’ve missed reading your writing.

Leave a Reply

