The “Big Disney Vacation,” Day One

So, it’s a big year at Chez Chili.

Bean turned sixteen this year.  SIXTEEN!  I know!  I can’t believe it, either!

erynstairs3

Punk turns eighteen (EIGHTEEN!) and graduates high school in June.

Shaelyn-16

Because of these special milestones, we decided that we were going to have a big vacation year to celebrate.  For the April break, we gave the girls a choice of a bunch of things to do – a cruise, a trip to Bermuda, a trip to the Keys, or a Disney vacation.

Without skipping a beat and all at the same time, they both said, “DISNEY!”

My husband, as I’ve noted before, has supernatural vacation planning abilities.  I mean it; this guy puts together a trip so that things happen seamlessly; he finds beautiful apartments for us to stay at, he researches when the best time to go to attractions is (“they have crowd calendars,” he tells me.  Who knew that was a thing?  He does, apparently).  He took it upon himself to put together this trip for us; all we did was tell him which parks we wanted to go to and he did the rest.

We got on a plane this morning and flew non-stop to Orlando.  The flight was a bit bumpy (I’m a nervous flier, so anything but perfectly smooth is “a bit bumpy” to me).  Regardless, we landed safely and made our way to the shuttle buses that take Disney guests to their resorts.

Mr. Chili passed out our “Magic Bands” which, apparently, do everything; they checked us in to the shuttle, they unlocked the door to our suite, they’ll get us into the parks (and purchase anything at any Disney-owned store or restaurant.

13878_10153294819764885_6348138554089574176_n

(mine is the blue one; the black band is my fitbit; in addition to starting up my blogging habit, I’m committed to getting some exercise this week, too.  Plus, I’m curious to see how much walking gets done in Disney parks).  After a lovely trip on a comfortable bus, we arrived at the Old Key West resort.

This place is GORGEOUS.  We have a two bedroom suite with a kitchen, full size washer and drier, and a gigantic hot tub in the master suite (thank you, Mr. Chili!)!  As I write this, I’m sitting on our porch overlooking the river.  Seriously; this is my view:

14029_10153295159534885_3349689272679919737_n

We weren’t here five minutes before a knock on the door heralded the arrival of our groceries.  My husband ordered groceries and arranged to have them delivered to our suite when we arrived.  He got “the things we get on our first vacation grocery run;” that means a loaf of bread, some mayo and tuna, cereal, milk, double stuff Oreos and, of course, Chips Ahoy and Nutella (GODS, but I love this man!).

As I write this, we’re waiting for our bags to be delivered from the airport (that was part of the service).  The girls have already been to the pool, and we have reservations for Portobello’s at 6:00.  We’re going to dress up a bit and take the water taxi (the one that goes right by our porch on that river there) and have a lovely supper, then we’re headed to Ghirardelli’s for dessert.

We have a busy week planned, but I’m hopeful to be able to see a couple of friends while I’m here; one of my college friends (and a bridesmaid at my wedding) lives in Orlando and suggested meeting for lunch when she saw my travel update on facebook, and I’m desperately hoping to be able to see TwoBlueDay while we’re here (though that might be tricky and, as such, may not happen, but I hold out hope).  I’m really looking forward to spending time with my nearly-adult children.  I’m delighted to be where it’s warm.  This is going to be great.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The “Big Disney Vacation,” Day One

  1. I LOVED my trip to Disney and I hope you have a magical time!

Leave a Reply

