Daily Archives: April 24, 2016

The 3/4 Chili Adventure, Part II

Today was a bit of a hodgepodge, but it was a good day, regardless.  We woke and had a lovely breakfast with Dudley (who was cooking bacon by the time I got out of the shower.  I was lured downstairs by the siren song of sizzling bacon fat.  Mmmmm!).  While his missus was at church, he and Mr. Chili went to smack a few golf balls around while Punk and I generally lazed about.

Around noon or so, we packed up, said goodbye, and headed to the mall Mr. Chili had scoped out because its Sears had a Land’s End (and my sweetie is in love with the Land’s End men’s department).  Sadly, though, all their cool weather stuff had either sold or was put away; he couldn’t find a good sweater (which reminds me; we should go to OUR Sears to snag the sweater he hoped to buy today…).  We doodled around the mall for a bit and found an Old Navy which DID have some things he liked, so between that and a Charlotte Russe for Punk, we did okay in our shopping safari.

We had a yummy lunch at a Cheesecake Factory (because we don’t have one handy to Chez Chili; the nearest one is an hour away, which is both a terrible shame and a very, very good thing..) then he made our way to our apartment at National Harbor.   We checked in and walked around the neighborhood for a bit, taking in the last of a wine and food festival and enjoying the warm air.  Supper was our Cheesecake Factory leftovers while watching the Outlander episode Mr. Chili figured out how to stream on to the living room t.v. (because he’s brilliant that way).

Tomorrow, we head to DC for our first day of sightseeing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

The 3/4 Chili Adventure, Part 1

We left the Chili homestead yesterday morning, right on time at about 8:30.  After a quick stop at the market to recover some snacks Punk had left at work the night before, we were on our way.

We had a great trip.  Mr. Chili had us all mapped out, including where we would stop for lunch (Bertucci’s in Waterbury, CT) and gas (the Prime station in Clinton, NJ).

13055529_10154203473434885_6293437049449956584_n

Despite having spent a little more time at the gas station than we planned (I left my sunglasses on the picnic table where we got a little air and stretched a bit), we landed at Dudley’s house exactly when Mr. Chili said we would.

We were met with a LOVELY surprise when we found that Dudley’s mom and dad, Mama V and Papa T, were visiting, too.  I LOVE these people; Papa is sharp and funny, and Mama V is one of my heroes; she’s kind, she’s energetic, she’s generous and genuine.  I want to be her when I grow up.  Being able to spend some time in her presence was the icing on my day.  My only regret is that I didn’t think to take a picture of us together.  Blah.

Mr. and I had a yummy breakfast with Dudley this morning, and now the gentlemen are off playing at the driving range while Punk and I laze about.  On the way out to National Harbor and our apartment later this evening, we may do a bit of shopping; it turns out that the weather forecast has changed since we packed, so we need a couple of sweaters.

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 10.41.11 AM.png

*The “3/4” is a reference to the fact that Beanie is in Italy, so this adventure consists of me, Mr. Chili, and Punkin’ Pie.  Bean’s got crappy wifi access, apparently, but when (if) she gets through, I’ll post her updates here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized